Author Review: John Green

Hello friends,

Today I’m doing something a little different, and I think that I’m going to start doing author reviews so here we go

First up is Mr. John Green. I’m going to do this without spoiling any of the books but make sure you don’t click the links if you plan to read the book and haven’t yet.


So I’m going to have an unpopular opinion here. I am not a fan. John Green has written four books (solo, he has others with multiple co-authors) and I have read three of them.

The first was The Fault in Our Starsย which I think is totally overrated. Not that it was badly written or anything but the hype around it is super inflated. I also have some personal reasons for not liking the story because of the people around me, but if you want to know more about that click the link above (careful, there’s a huge spoiler).

The second book that I read was Paper Townsย (also full of spoilers, so take caution). It was recommended by a friend and I really thought that it was a waste of time. Not only the whole plot of the book but especially the ending. Literally you get to the end and it’s like “so all of this happened for nothing…?”

The last one that I read was Looking for Alaska which I disliked so much that I’m not going to bother writing a review for it. I had a really hard time getting into the story and then when I did I still really had a problem with the way that the main character sexualizes Alaska, it’s disgusting. Not to mention the huge turning point in the story, after that I kind of stopped caring about everything else ya know? And then the ending was kind of just like, “Oh okay. That’s it? Well, I guess that ‘s cool then”


Overall I think his writing style is good, he writes amazingly interesting and fun characters (for the most part), but the plots are kind of dull and boring.I also am not a fan of using the r-word as someone who has siblings with mental disabilities, so that was a huge turn off and it happens often in his books. When I was in elementary school, I was taught that the climax or turning point of the story is supposed to be something huge and then the story declines into a resolution. I can point out what’s supposed to be the climax in all of the stories but ironically I find all of them fairly anticlimactic, and then there’s hardly any resolution. Especially for Paper Towns. I feel like every time I reach the end of one of his books I feel like the entire story was for nothing and that by the end, the main character just ends up accepting something that they had no control over in the first place. I mean, I guess that’s a good lesson – to be able to accept that some things are just out of your control but there’s hardly any difference between the three of them.

If I had to rate in stars, I would give John Green a 2 out of 5.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 26 Book Blogger. Booktuber. Gryffinclaw. Coffee & Tea Lover.
This entry was posted in Author Review. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Author Review: John Green

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I agree. I didn’t cry in The Fault In Our Stars and, overall, I didn’t find it that sad. I didn’t see the big deal. I mean, I liked it, but I felt it was really overrated. And Paper Towns was just boring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel much the same way; I like his writing style but, having read the same 3 books as you, I’m not into the stories. My main problem is how annoying his characters are; he really overplays the manic pixie dream girl thing with Margo and Alaska, both of whom are just incredibly annoying. Even Augustus seemed really over-the-top annoying to me, although I did think TFIOS was a pretty good book overall, mainly because it made me laugh a lot at the beginning which I didn’t expect. I think Green is a little bit over-rated, but I know his books get teens reading so I tend to keep a lid on my disregard.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. j.belk says:

    The concept of this post is really good, so great job! ๐Ÿ™‚ However I think I’m going to be an outlier in this discussion, for I actually love John Green as an author. I can understand your reasons as to why you wouldn’t enjoy Green, however for some of them I would have to respectfully disagree.

    I enjoyed the plot lines and character development in most of his novels, especially TFIOS & LFA. I think the main reason Green doesn’t appeal to some readers is because of his sense of humour — either they don’t care for it, they take it offensively, or they simply can’t relate. I know a lot of people dislike him as author for several other reasons, but I find this one to be the main one.

    I agree with you when you mentioned that the ending to Paper Towns was kind of ‘eh’, but I personally liked the concept and plot of the overall novel. As for LFA, this one is my favorite of his novels, so I won’t go into too much detail — let’s just say I disagree with your opinion about the ending and the characters, lol. This novel in particular kind of hit “close to home”, and therefore it’s kind of hard not to love this novel (for me, of course)…

    Overall I respect your opinions and the way in which you executed this post. I know people hold their opinions and you have the right to share them. Although we disagree in some areas, I do love that you are doing Author Reviews because I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else post such a thing. I look forward to reading more of these posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S. if anything I said came off to be rude or anything of that sort, I APOLOGIZE!!! Please don’t take anything I said personally or directly, I was simply expressing my opinion! ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Like

    • I actually think that you have the more popular opinion here. At least among my friends, most of them enjoy his work. I also welcome your disagreement, as you mentioned it was respectful so I don’t mind and actually am interested to hear your opinion. Yeah Paper Towns I felt should have ended differently but I don’t exactly know how. If LFA hits close to home then I totally understand why you would enjoy it. TFIOS hit close to home for me but I think it made me dislike it instead of the other way around (if that makes sense). No offense taken at all! I really do appreciate you giving a different perspective and doing it respectively and in an informative way. I’ve found that many people are not able to do that and I truly enjoyed hearing your perspective so thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • j.belk says:

        Oh, no problem!! I, as well, enjoyed hearing your perspective on John Green as an author, for it does open my eyes to other aspects of his writing.

        I understand about TFIOS — sometimes I relate to other novels, however not in the way they are portraying a topic or situation, and yes, that can be a major “turn off”.

        Thank you for sharing such an informative & unique post! ๐Ÿ™‚

        -Jess @jbelkbooks

        Liked by 1 person

      • And thank you for commenting and providing a good discussion!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: This or That? #73 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: Author Review | Cassandra Clare (Part 1) | bookmarkchronicles

  7. Pingback: Author Review | Beth Pattillo | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a comment