Series Review: The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Overall I did really enjoy this series although it started out incredibly slow.

I love the world and how it’s really just a world that exists but we just don’t know about it. I like all of the creatures and how there are boundaries between the Shadowhunters, werewolves, warlocks and faeries. Although I kind of wish we had learned more about what faeries are like in this world.

Since this story takes place in the 1800s the sexism in this series is horrendous. It makes sense for the time period but still.

I hated the love triangle, because I felt that it was strange and unnecessary. I also felt that there was just a lot of romance in general for a group of people that was under attack by a metal army that was specifically designed to wipe them out.

What bothered me the most was that, while a lot of the dialogue is beautifully written, sometimes it was too drawn out. I would’ve appreciated in some parts if it was more straight forward.

Below are my reviews for each individual book:

Overall, that’s 4.17 stars our of 5. It is one that I would recommend and I really hope that The Mortal Instruments is just as good!


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebookย and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Series Review. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Series Review: The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

  1. One of the reason I loved the series was because of the dialogues. I think it was set that way because of the era. Like how all the classics have that language.
    Ofcourse I am not comparing it to a classic, just the era, the way of speaking etc. ๐Ÿ˜›
    They do become long winded and verbose. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Its not a very strong series, that I agree. But it is a must read. Yeah. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this series, right up until the end with the “romantic twist”. If I hadn’t of loved the series, that twist would have put me off, but it didn’t, I just didn’t like it,lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  4. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: Series Review: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: Author Review | Cassandra Clare (Part 1) | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

