Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

6

Description:

Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards.
And in his case, different can be deadly.


~SPOILER ALERT~


Book Review:

There’s so much from this one that I didn’t remember!

I love the chapter about the World Cup with the teams and the mascots and all that.

I hate that Crouch fired Winky over something that she obviously didn’t do (even though we find out what really happened later). And I simultaneously love that Hermione flipped her shit at him and Percy for it. I really like how Hermione’s character mirrors Emma Watson in real life.

So I know that when the books were released there were years or so in between each of them but at this point I don’t think we need reminders of things that we were reminded of in the first three books. Like how the sorting ceremony works (granted we haven’t actually seen one since Sorcerer’s Stone) but we definitely don’t need to be reminded of how Harry learned he was a wizard and what happened to his parents. At least I don’t think so. Important details like that aren’t ones that are likely to be forgotten.

I understand the purpose of having an antagonist but I really want to sock Draco in the mouth every time he talks. I guess I just hate stuck up rich kids who think they’re better than everyone else for no good reason but he’s so annoying.

Ron is just as annoying in this one as he was in the last. Of all people, he should know that Harry was telling the truth about not putting his name in the Goblet. But apparently, jealousy can have an affect on even the best of friendships. And then he insists that Hermione is incapable of getting a date to the Yule Ball but gets mad that she did. Well you should’ve asked her instead of being a dick and talking shit. Not to mention that he basically¬†gets pissed at Harry because his parent left him money. Seriously, get over yourself. So he didn’t notice the leprechaun gold vanished. Well, yeah he does have money, he’s also trying to figure out who the hell is trying to kill him so forgive him if that’s not his top priority at the moment.

Alright moving on…

The whole thing with Moody was a little too obvious. I get the he’s an Auror, but the way he described how Harry’s name got into the Goblet was too good.

I was not a fan of the Hufflepuffs halfway through (no offense) but they’re so temperamental sometimes and I get that it shows their loyalty but still. First their cool with Harry, then they spread rumors because they think he attacked Justin, then they apologize because they were obviously wrong, and then they hate him again for something that wasn’t even his fault AGAIN. Make up your mind and stay there.

I can’t stand Rita Skeeter. I’m glad Hermione caught her and put her in that damn jar. Like seriously how desperate and stupid are you. And then the people who are actually dumb enough to believe her are even worse. Sending Howlers to a 14 year old girl at her school. Really? How pathetic are you?

Percy is still annoying omg I can’t stand him either my goodness.

Also not a fan of Fleur, at least not in this one. She whines and complains about everything. Just….shhh.

I love that Mrs. Weasley and Bill came to the tournament as Harry’s family, that was very sweet.

Amos Diggory, not a fan (I mean, obviously I feel bad about him losing his son at the end, but I didn’t like him before that). Taking Rita’s articles to heart and attacking Harry for it was BS. He’s an adult, he should act like one. Not to mention (as Mrs. Weasley pointed out) he knows that she is notorious for lying.

I think the person that I might hate the most in this entire novel (aside from Voldemort) is Fudge. How stupid are you? Don’t call Harry crazy just because you don’t want to believe that Voldemort’s back. Snape showed you the Dark Mark on his arm, what more proof do you need? Dumbledore is literally giving you gold and telling you how to handle the situation properly and you’re being an idiot. WTF

Okay, that was really just a lot of ranting but in a nutshell, a lot of characters suck but the story itself was great. We learn so much more in this one and I really love the way that everything starts to come together as well as lead up to the ending.

Despite that I hate almost everyone at this point…5 out of 5!


Movie Review:

This is the part in the series where the books start to become much longer and A LOT of details get cut out of the movie. Sirius is only in the scene where he talks to Harry through the fireplace. but aside from that nothing. There’s nothing about Dobby, Winky or Bertha Jorkins and there were a lot of slight changes.

I wouldn’t necessarily say that I hated the movie adaptation but it’s a bit disappointing. Granted if you’re someone who hasn’t read the books (and I don’t know why you wouldn’t) everything still seems to make sense.

I don’t think it really made since for Harry to pass out at the World Cup. Like, considering he’s the one that Crouch was after what was the point of that? Also, the dragon scene was so over-exaggerated. The was no need for all of that. Sure, it adds to the visual aspect but the extra time spent on that could have been spent on something more important I feel. I did enjoy the addition of the scene where Ron has to dance with McGonagall. I can’t complain about that one lol.

However, the scene where Hermione and Ron argue and she starts crying, that was unnecessary. That’s not how it happened, she simply told him what he needed to do and walked away. It should have been that way in the movie. Making her cry added nothing to the scene except unnecessary drama.

Maybe this is just me but Dumbledore was not at all as calm as I had imagined him to be. He isn’t really supposed to lose his cool until after Harry returns with Cedric’s body but the whole way through he’s yelling and not being as chill as he is described.

So Cedric. Love his character…hate that he’s played by Robert Pattinson. Not a fan and it makes it hard for me to picture him as an attractive person. Not sorry.

Overall, it wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t great either. 3 out of 5


Reading Order of the Phoenix next (obviously). I remember really hating this one before so let’s see if anything changes.

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  1. Great review! Yeah I found the movie adaptation of this one not as good as the book too. I’m not a huge fan of book 5 either I’m afraid :/

    Like

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I liked all the faults that you mentioned (well, almost all)! I mean, not that I liked them, but I felt like it showed reality: that adults will really believe anything, for example. How many people are supporting Trump? In Australia, how many people are supporting Hanson and Lambie (mini Trump and mini Palin)? In England, with Brexit? How many voted ‘go’ because they thought it’d be fun to vote that way, but didn’t expect to leave, and now regret said decision? How many people are sending abuse to Taylor Swift, instead of focusing on the Nice and Turkey attacks – for something she doesn’t even deserve? (Like, it’s not about whether you like her or not. But addressing the constant rumours that she wrote the song? Which were around before the break up? And she was originally attached to it before her name was removed and changed because of the hype? I think she has every right to say yeah, okay, I was involved. And after what Calvin did to Rita Ora, stopping her performing a song, I don’t get at all where he’s coming from.) But the bullying alone? When did we start doing that? When did we decide it was okay to listen to rumours and tabloid fodder and react on them? I think it’s great summarisation for society, and how society acts. It’s just too bad society didn’t get the lesson.
    Although, I hate Ron so much. SO FREAKING MUCH. I hate how jealous he gets. I hate how he doesn’t believe his best friend. And I think you’re so right about the gold coins. To be honest, I think it’d take Ron even a few days to notice the money was gone, considering they were being attacked at the time. For Harry, the attack doesn’t stop – plus, he’s had that dream about Voldemort, and he knows it has something to do with him. That’s not nothing.
    I also like how Fudge denies everything. I mean, I don’t, because he’s a dick. But it’s kind of how politicians are. Climate change? Deny it exists. Gay people? They don’t need rights. Let’s pretend their problems don’t exist. Black lives? It’s probably their fault they’re being killed by cops, let’s deny it’s a problem. Or blame them, instead.
    I dunno, I just feel like all the problems (which are problems, and all the things I dislike) are great representations of how a lot of people act in society! I thought she captured it well, even if it rage-inducing at times (especially in the fifth book!).

    Like

  3. Idontwearahat. says:

    favourite book, least favourite of the films. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Series Review: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: July Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

