Stop Debating About Hermione

I originally wasn’t going to say anything about this but it keeps coming up and it’s really pissing me off.

The actress playing Hermione in The Cursed Child is black and now everyone’s losing their minds. Why? Racism. That is what it comes down to because otherwise no one would give a damn. However, what about all of the times that white actors were hired to play people of color? Nobody cares about that though right? Also, what’s so wrong with people of color finally getting some representation in such a huge and popular story. CHECK YOUR PRIVILEGE!

Someone tried to say that it wasn’t about racism and that it was about consistency of the movie franchise. Uh….Hello the movie franchise is over! So that’s a bullshit excuse to cover up the fact that you’re a racist bigot. Nice try.

At the end of the day, J.K. Rowling, the author and creator of the character is totally fine with it. Her opinion is honestly the only one that matters so please stop. It’s been decided.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 26 Book Blogger. Booktuber. Gryffinclaw. Coffee & Tea Lover.
This entry was posted in Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stop Debating About Hermione

  1. dbsgirl says:

    I totally agree. The excuse that it doesn’t fit with the films is an just people being covertly racist. JK never said. She had dark bushy hair – imagine her how you like! Does it matter?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hermionefowl says:

    THANK YOU. I can kind of understand that people are mad she doesn’t look like Emma, but when none of the actors look the same, it’s hard to defend yourself when you’re only complaining about one…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. carlalouise89 says:

    I just don’t get at all why this is a problem. It’s not the movie. No one complains in the Lion King musical that the lions aren’t actual fucking lions … get over it. She was the best for it. I literally don’t understand this. This is no different from Rue. I mean, I’d read the books prior to the movie, so I knew that she had dark skin because Katniss says she does. However, I never got why (even if Katniss hadn’t described her that way) it was a problem. Who cares that Rue was black??? Seriously!? Why was that a big deal? How, in any way, did that ruin the film for you!? My care factor was zero. I thought the actress who played Rue was cute, sweet, and perfect for the role. That’s all that matters to me.
    Although, Hollywood’s white-washing is seriously starting to piss me off.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a comment