(Audio)Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)

Description:

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?


~SPOILER ALERT!~


Book Review:

I had a free credit on Audible so I figured I’d give it a shot. I listened to the whole thing (surprisingly) but I also followed along with the book. I didn’t know before that I could change the speed that it was being read at so that actually helped that I could make it faster!

This is my favorite reread so far! J.K. Rowling is a master at foreshadowing, so many little hints that matter as the story goes on.

I kinda wish I could make people blow up like balloons when they pissed me off, that would be cool. I also think the concept of the Knight Bus is pretty cool.

I don’t like Professor Trelawney. She seems annoying, and you know how I feel about annoying characters. Although, her class does add to the build up of the story with the Grim and all that.

I already don’t like Lavender so I’m not really looking forward to her role in the next book.

Ron is awfully annoying in this one, too much whining. He literally complains about everything. I get that he was pissed that Crookshanks kept attacking Scabbers but even when Sirius and Lupin tried to explain to him, he wasn’t listening.

I love the whole history about Harry’s parent’s and Sirius and Lupin and of course the rivalry between James and Severus. I love the part where Harry comes back from Hogsmeade and Snape tries to open the map. Hilarious.

Even though I’ve read it before I was so excited and literally on the edge of my seat during the Gryffindor-Slytherin game! Rowling did a really great job building up the tension of the game in that chapter. From going to a school where basketball is really big, I felt that it was just as exciting as watching a live game!

I like the reunion between Harry and Sirius. Although I think Sirius could have gone about the whole thing a little differently. I get that he needed to get to Pettigrew so that he could prove that he was innocent but as soon as he pulled Ron into the Shrieking Shake, he could’ve started talking instead of letting them believe that he was there to kill Harry.

Harry was also a little annoying after he and Hermione went back to save Sirius. If Hermione hadn’t been there he would’ve ruined the whole thing because he’s so hot-headed.

I like that Sirius gave Ron the owl. That was cute and he made up with Crookshanks.

Overall I really liked this book 5 out of 5!


Movie Review:

I do always enjoy this movie when I watch. As with all the others I didn’t notice the little things like people switching lines and such but I mind it too much.

I do wonder though what made them add the shrunken head the Knight Bus (aside from humor).

I like how they added the information about what an Animagus is to Snape’s lesson when he filled in for Lupin. That was a good move.

One of my favorite scenes is when Ron wakes up and says that spiders are trying to make him tap dance. He’s much less annoying in the movie than in the book in my opinion. Also, I feel that the movies hint more towards Ron and Hermione’s relationship than the books do. I’m not sure how I feel about that though.

Also in the movie, when Snape finds them, he stands in front of them and shields them from Lupin when he’s a werewolf. I think that was a pretty good move too I guess.

Not too many complaints I think.

4.5 out of 5!


Well you all know what’s next so I’ll hopefully have that review by the end of the week!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to (Audio)Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

  1. Pingback: Series Review: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling | bookmarkchronicles

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

