Rae’s Rules to Remember #62: The Second Amendment

I’m not against the second amendment.

If you want to have a gun for whatever reason and you’re licensed, go for it.

However, I do think that regulations are necessary. People asking for gun control don’t want your guns taken away. We want is some sort of system in place to prevent people who shouldn’t have them, from getting them.

A Philadelphia reporter went to buy a gun after the shooting in Orlando to see how it worked, and the whole process took only seven minutes. This means that literally anyone can get their hands on whatever guns are available to them, without any sort of screening process. You should have to get a background check. Maybe you should have to spend a certain amount of time at a gun range before purchasing. I don’t know, but it really shouldn’t be that easy.

Sure, some people will say that guns aren’t ever necessary and everyone is entitled to their opinion. However, it’s written in our Constitution, so it’s not like that right could ever be revoked. So what the rest of us are asking for is a procedure that prevents the ability to sell a gun to anyone just because they want one.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 26 Book Blogger. Booktuber. Gryffinclaw. Coffee & Tea Lover.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #62: The Second Amendment

  1. darthtimon says:

    I completely agree. I live in a country where guns aren’t widespread, and they’re not part of our culture. In the US, it’s different, and therefore the solution to gun crime needs to be different. Unfortunately some people equate gun control with banning guns, which is a strawman argument, but one that is pretty powerful in the US.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Pingback: [Tag Tuesday] The Sunshine Blogger Award – Only True Magic

  3. Ariel Lynn says:

    I’ll admit, I applied for a gun permit in my state (Dad & I love target shooting, & he owns a few legally owned/registered firearms). I was honest & admitted I’ve had out-patient psychiatric treatment, so my application was rejected.

    &, to be honest, I understood why & I accept it (despite some concerns over relinquishing my Dad’s guns whenever he passes). I think most states should follow, at least, my state’s regulations & requirements (they did a background check, fingerprinted me, & asked for/reviewed my dr’s records once I admitted my psychiatric past).

    I also think a psychiatric/psychological evaluation would be a good idea. I’m completely biased, but I think that people might not answer the question honestly if they think they’ll be rejected, & people who aren’t receiving treatment, but need it, potentially could be more dangerous than those receiving treatment.

    (Sorry for the super long replies to your posts; they raise so many thoughts that I wanna share! I’m working on it, I promise. 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dbsgirl says:

    I’m from the UK, so guns are very few and far between. The only people owning them are ‘dangerous’ people (i.e. who have bought them for not so good reasons) and farmers/hunters (pheasants, rabbits etc).

    I’m a pacifist. I 100% do not agree with the 2nd amendment, so we disagree there. But as they are legalised in various places, strict STRICT checks need to be put in place. I’d be terrified going to the USA. So I agree with you there. But just because it’s part of the constitution, why does that mean people have to have guns? Can’t the constitution be rewritten? We live in a different age, where guns are so much more powerful than they’ve never been before…

    (okay comment?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I think that in the US people typically have guns for hunting or protection. Essentially for self defense like, if someone breaks into your home or you’re attacked walking home or something. Because it’s in the Constitution it absolutely will not be taken out (people would freak out if that happened) but aside from those two reasons, guns are used for violence and I feel like I can understand people wanting them for self defense I just don’t like how easily accessible they are.
      (Great comment! You shared a little about yourself and added to the conversation!)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a comment