This or That? #48

Hey Happy Monday!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics please let me know!


This week I’m wondering…

Is there a book or series that you enjoyed when you read it, but would change your mind about now?


For example, I like Twilight when I first read it.  Looking back on the story now I think it’s terrible. I think I got caught up in the hype of it and got so invested that I kept reading just because I needed to know how it ended.

In my opinion, when I reflect on it I actually think that the story was horrible. I hate love triangles for one thing. Then Edward and Bella’s relationship was kind of weird. I get it, he’s a vampire blah blah blah but he literally wanted to kill her. Then there’s the age thing, I mean he’s over 100 years old, doesn’t look it but still. And then when he leaves and it turns into Romeo and Juliet. Bella starts being ridiculously reckless and almost dies and then Edward tries to get the Volturi to kill him. It’s all just really weird. And then they’re engaged but she kisses Jacob because he’s being a jealous brat but then he ends up falling in love with their daughter. It’s just a weird story and I wouldn’t recommend it.

So now over to you! Any situations like this? Let me know!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 26 Book Blogger. Booktuber. Gryffinclaw. Coffee & Tea Lover.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to This or That? #48

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I would have to agree with you – Twilight, for the very same reason! I initially read it after seeing the movie (which I hated, and thought was terrible. I went with friends, and was literally unaware there was hype until one of our family friends, who was a high school librarian, was over that afternoon and he asked me about it. He was saying all the kids liked it, and asked me what I thought. I was like, ‘The movie was terrible, but I have no idea about the books.’) because a bunch of my friends were debating the novels: half of them thought Twilight was about a twisted relationship and both Edward and the wolf-guy were really bad, and Bella lacked any substance. The others thought Edward and Bella’s relationship was magical and romantic. I then started reading to make up my own mind, and soon started a relationship after that. I think I got caught up in the romantic hype, the hype among a lot of my close friends, and it probably didn’t help that my boyfriend at the time was very Edward like.
    Now I hate it. I’ve hated it for a very, very long time!
    I think the same could be said for Divergent for me, though. I started off liking the series, but I don’t know, somewhere in the second book I just felt like it wasn’t good. I was in love and changed my mind so quickly!
    The opposite happened with The Hunger Games, though. I really, really liked it when it first came out, I’m not going to lie. But now, for some reason, I like it more. The only thing I can’t stand is the triangle relationship thing; I really feel now that Katniss should just pick Peeta. I don’t know why, and I’m pretty sure I didn’t think this the first time round, but I’m not really a fan of Gale. I’m pretty sure I used to prefer him … but now, I’m re-reading the novels and I realise that I like Peeta better for some reason. And I have no idea why. I also like the novels, in general, better now. Sorry for the long comment!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I’ve always like Hunger Games. And I’ve always chosen Peeta. I think that because Peeta was in the Games with her he understands her better and she loves him for that. If she had never entered the Games I feel like she wouldve ended up with Gale just because but not because she loved him

      Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I think I’ve worked out why! It just randomly came to me. Peeta loves Katniss unconditionally, for all her faults and flaws. He doesn’t want her to be anyone she’s not. Gale wants Katniss to be someone else. Peeta’s just happy with the possibility that Katniss loves her; and he loves her so much that, even though I’m sure it devastates him, he’d rather see her happy with Gale than force her to be with him. He’s not demanding, manipulative, and he never acts out of jealousy. I feel that Gale loves Katniss, but he also wants her to be someone else, at the same time. It’s like he wouldn’t love her if she wasn’t part of the rebellion. He turns on her, (although briefly) despite all her efforts to save him, and her family, and his family. I think his intentions are noble and just; and I’m not sure I’d even do anything different to him. To be honest, I feel like I’d be half Katniss half Gale – I don’t think I’m good enough, kind enough, selfless enough to be like Peeta. But, for once, I feel like the triangle shouldn’t be a triangle. It kind of makes me mad that it takes Katniss until the end of the third novel to realise this. Sorry for such the long comments, you’ve just got me really thinking and I can’t sleep for some reason! I’m not even sleepy, which is so odd for me! Maybe it’s because I skipped my work out today!?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. carlalouise89 says:

    Okay, I promise this is my last comment and I will leave you alone. I must be driving you insane, I’m so sorry!
    Re-reading the novels, Katniss makes SO MANY FUCKING MENTIONS TO THE COLOUR OF RUE’S SKIN. It’s not even a once off. She mentions it multiple times – same with Thresh. WHAT THE FUCK WAS THE PROBLEM WITH STUPID WHITE PEOPLE? WHY DO WE HAVE TO BE SHIT ABOUT EVERYTHING?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. darthtimon says:

    I really enjoyed the first half a dozen Honor Harrington books, but the later ones are quite weak. I can’t go back and reread them without judging them by the standards of earlier books.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think maybe Harry Potter but I can’t be certain. Back then I thought it was good (yet overrated). I think now I might find it silly. Not sure though and no offense!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kendra says:

    Well, isn’t this a loaded question! Haha. There are many series I have changed my mind about. Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey being two. I think I got wrapped up in the hype with Twilight. With FSOG, I read it before the hype (kinda). However, I love certain aspects of FSOG even though other aspects drive me bat shit crazy. If I were to reread it now, I probably would not be able to sit through the first book. I can see where FSOG lacks with certain things.

    That being said, there are also many standalone books I have changed my mind about too. If I were to reread some of the ones on my read shelf, I might not like they as much as I did then. However, I won’t change my ratings or anything because it helps to show how much I have grown: as a person and as a reader.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: This or That? #48 – Lolsys Library

  8. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #48 Changing Your Mind | apieceofparadis

  9. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #48 Changing Your Mind – paradisbooks

Leave a comment