This or That? #84

For anyone who needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


Have you ever ordered a book subscription box? If so, which one and would you recommend it?

(Even if it was just one time, it counts)


I have not but I have always wanted to! They would pop up on Instagram or friends would send me pictures and ask if I’ve ever gotten one. I think maybe I will one day.

I think a part of the reason that I hesitate to order them is if I don’t like the books chosen. Some of them also come with other bookish things so I just wonder if I’ll enjoy it. Then again, you never know if you don’t try. So, one day I will order one and see what’s it like.

In the conclusion post this week I plan to list some of the available boxes with their genre, cost, and all that for anyone who’s interested (and for myself for future reference).

What about you? Ever ordered one of these before? Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to This or That? #84

  1. darthtimon says:

    Never ordered one. Given some of the sets I’ve got it might have made sense!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been tempted but never taken the plunge for the same reason as you. Also I don’t think many of them ship to the UK.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have not, though I really want to! Most subscription boxes I’ve seen are not available in my country.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: This or That – Journey into Books

  5. Sarah says:

    I haven’t but I did a bit of a search as part of this and found some based within the UK that don’t have the prohibitive shipping charges that a lot of the US based boxes do for those of us on the other side of the pond. You can see my list here

    Like

  6. I’ve tried out a couple of these subscription boxes. The problem with the YA ones is exactly what you said: Sometimes the books just don’t sound interesting to me. That being said, the ones I have tried (Owlcrate and Uppercase Box) were still really nice boxes that were definitely worth the price, they just weren’t always for me.
    One subscription service I love is Book of the Month Club. It’s not a “box” so you don’t get the goodies, just a book. But its $10 a month, and everyone month on the first, you get a list of a few different books to choose from. You get to read all the summaries beforehand and pick the one you want. Or you can get more than one, you just have to pay an extra fee. It’s really great and affordable, and you always get a book that interests you.
    Hope this helps! =)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ariel Lynn says:

    I never even knew such an amazing product existed. So, now I’ve got about a million tabs open to check them out. Thanks for the tip! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #84 Subscription Boxes – paradis books

  9. Pingback: March Wrap Up! 2017 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

