This or That? #97

This week I want to know……

How do you feel about laying books open, face down?

Image result for laying books face down

Like this

I do it all the time ~ I hate it with a burning passion ~ I’m indifferent


I must admit that it bothers me because I’m afraid of breaking the spine. Broken spines are one of my biggest bookish pet peeves. It ruins it!

When I was reading my new version of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, the spine started to crack a little at the top just because of how thick the book was. I was heartbroken. I legit wouldn’t open the book but so far so that it wouldn’t crack anymore. There’s no way that I could’ve left it face down/

What about you? Does this bother you at all? Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This or That? #97

  1. I’m indifferent and laughing while I type my answer as I had no idea it’s an issue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Huh I don’t think I’m a fan of it. Usually if I need to leave a book for a second I just stick a pen or pencil as a bookmark. But leaving a book like that long term…hmm I fear for the spine!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thebookcorps says:

    It should be illegal to put a book face down – I always find a bookmark, even if its a scrap of paper! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    While, personally, I don’t like using the word “hate” (I think “hating” something/someone gives too much power & my energy to something I don’t like), given the choices I have to say: “I hate it with a burning passion.”

    It’s probably my 3rd biggest book related pet peeve, after writing/highlighting in a book (#1) & dog-earring the pages (#2). LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: This or That? #97 – Lolsys Library

  6. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #97 Face-down – paradis books

Leave a Reply

