The Romper Thing

I don’t even understand why this is a thing right now.

So in case you don’t know I guess rompers are now being made for men…. and people are freaking out over it.

First of all, clothes have no gender. Therefore you don’t need to call it a RompHim or a “man romper” it’s still a romper.

I’ve also found that a lot of people are claiming this is a threat to masculinity………. How? Surely, I’m not a man so maybe there’s something that I’m missing here. Is it because it was a clothing trend among women first? Wasn’t there a point in time where it was unacceptable for women to wear pants? So what? Times change.

Is it because it makes you uncomfortable? If that’s the case….why? Why are you uncomfortable? Your masculinity should not be so heavily defined by what you wear and it certainly shouldn’t be threatened by one piece of clothing.

If you want to wear a romper, you wear that romper. If you don’t like other people wearing rompers look away. Let people live their lives. I think it’s safe to say that we have more important things to worry about right now anyway.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Feminism. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Romper Thing

  1. darthtimon says:

    I don’t even know what a romper is, much less why there’s an issue with wearing one!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. michelle says:

    I can see how lots of guys I know would be like, “Romper? Sign me up!” because it makes dressing so easy. They could be “one and done” every morning–and most guys I know would love that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ashley says:

    I really don’t understand why people are so bent out of shape about this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    Wow… I didn’t know this was a thing. Frankly, I think Rompers are ugly – regardless of who’s wearing it. That said, all I can say about this “controversy” is: #MasculinitySoFragile 🙄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol agreed. I don’t wear them. I’ve seen some that are cute but if someone else wants to wear one I really don’t care, it’s not hurting anybody

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Oh yeah, I’m right there with you. If you wanna wear one, go for it. Male, female, intersex, gender fluid… I don’t really care what you’re wearing. If it makes you feel good, do it! (OK, maybe not a lobster costume, but y’know… lol)

        But, just because I don’t like rompers doesn’t mean that no one can wear them. Much like, just because these people don’t like rompers on men doesn’t mean they can’t wear them. No one asked our opinions (which, I get the irony of, since I give my opinion without being asked all. the. time.)! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

