SheaMoisture: Black Women, Parasites & Violence

THIS THIS THIS THIS THIS.
If you didn’t recognize the difference, you are a part of the problem

Zone of Non-being

My thoughts on the SheaMoisture commercial:

Of course it was problematic that the company included white women and a light-skinned “acceptable” black woman. But my first and strongest feeling was that there was a stark difference between the black woman’s words and the white women’s words with regard to the violence and trauma they experienced. Consider the opening statements from each woman:



Black woman
: People would, like, throw stuff in my hair. And then I would just be walking and there would be little paper balls in my hair. I hated it because its like … I have this and people made fun of me for it.

White woman #1: Lots of days staring in the mirror like ‘I don’t know what to do with it!

White woman #2: I didn’t know if I was supposed to be a red-head. I dyed my hair blonde for 7 years…

View original post 255 more words

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SheaMoisture: Black Women, Parasites & Violence

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up! 2017 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

