This or That? #87

For anyone who needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


This week I want to know…

When you’re in a book store how do you decide which book(s) you will buy?

You know what you’ll buy before you get there ~ Bring (a portion of) your TBR and narrow it down ~ Pick the cheapest ones so you can buy the most with the money you have on you ~ Buy the ones written by authors you know you like ~ Pick the pretty covers ~ Browse and read the descriptions ~ Look up their Goodreads rating….or anything else?

I’m feeling generous today…..and I will allow you to give, not just one, but your top two answers.


WHAAAAAAATTTTTT?!

If you’ve been around for all 86 of these (or even a third of that) you know that I am very strict with the options. So mark your calendars folks, this may not ever happen again.

Anyway…..

I think my top two are 1. Bring a portion of my TBR and 2. Pick authors that I know I like.

I typically break up my master TBR (which is typed up and currently 8 pages long) and narrow it down to about 50 books per year. I pretty much do that by looking at books that I own but haven’t read, series that have been completed, books that I really want to read, and books that have come highly recommended from friends (like you) 🙂

And then I have authors that I always buy. Like Jodi Picoult cause she’s my fave. I’m slowly building my James Patterson collection with his Women’s Murder Club series. I think I’ve got 6 now, I found them at a book sale for two dollars each! And I think I will add Harlan Coben to that list because the first book that I read by him was really good.

So yeah, that’s how I buy books.

What about you? Do you fall into any of these categories? Which options did I leave out. Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitt

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This or That? #87

  1. ashley says:

    I either bring a wish list or just browse and see what catches my eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. christine @ theStorySalve says:

    1) Narrowed down TBR – I try to prioritize certain categories & buy #OwnVoices authors, so those get priotized and then
    2) I buy books that go on sale as long as they’re already on my TBR

    I do use Goodreads reviews to build my TBR list, but when it comes to actually shopping I’m very particular with my money. Like you, I have my TBR narrowed down to a set amount per year – like right now I’m trying to read through all the books I’ve owned for ages and still haven’t gotten around to actually reading.

    I’m interested to see how other people shop for books though. Hopefully I’m not the only meticulous one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah says:

    So I narrowed it down to two options 1 – I know what I’m buying before I get there. 2 – I browse and read the blurbs. I wrote a little bit more on it in my post

    Like

  4. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #87 Bookstore Buying – paradis books

Leave a Reply

