Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast


~SPOILER ALERT~


Well I didn’t hate it.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved this movie as a kid but we’re older and we know better now. Stockholm syndrome and human/animal relationships aren’t exactly things that we should promote to children.

Oh but heaven forbid there’s an LGBTQIA+ character right? I knew it would be LeFou even before I saw the movie and honestly, I think it fits. Good job on that Disney.

On the other hand, they also upped the sexism in the beginning. Having young school boys get “distracted” as Belle walks by, having young girls (who are doing laundry) give her side eyes. And then of course, having a man criticize her for teaching a little girl to read because “isn’t one enough?”

Anyway, overall it was pretty good. It was the magical experience brought to life that you would hope it would be.

I like Emma Watson as Belle, when you don’t think about how she’s British and Belle is French (yes I have to point that out). I liked her singing for the most part too.

I love Emma Thompson as Mrs. Potts. That was a good call. I think Chip is and has always been one of my favorite characters. I mean, seriously you can’t not love him.

I wasn’t a fan of a few of the new songs. Like the one that Beast does when Belle leaves. I mean it definitely fit with the story and gave the right feelings, but I could’ve done without it.

I really appreciated that they talk about Belle’s mother. Missing mothers is a very common trope in Disney movies so I’m glad that they took the time to address it.

I don’t even feel like I have to comment on Gaston. I think you can guess my feelings about him. Although, the actor that plays him says that Gaston possibly suffers from PTSD (which we wouldn’t really know because they never talk about his past but in this movie there is mention of a war). If that’s the case, I don’t really feel like they addressed it you know? Apparently it’s supposed to explain why he’s so into hunting and is a little violent at times. However, I feel like that storyline could easily confuse people and think that it should excuse how he treats Belle. It doesn’t, and apparently the two aren’t supposed to be related. IDK it wasn’t very well explained to be honest. I’ll have to find that article again so I can share it.

I think that’s all I have to say about it. I know that a lot of people really love this movie, so let me hear your thoughts. I think I’d give it 3.25 out of 5 stars.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast

  1. Lauren says:

    I thought the same thing when people started throwing fits about a gay character! This movie is about a woman that falls in love with some sort of mutated buffalo, and you’re worried about a gay man?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ashley says:

    The number of people up in arms over LeFou’s sexuality drove me crazy! It’s 2017, get over it. I loved LeFou and thought that his character was done very well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: April Wrap Up! 2017 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

