The Small Problem with A Day Without Women

First, I have to thank Kat @ The Patchwork Diaries for her post A Day Without Mom because that was the inspiration for this post. Give it a read, it really puts things into perspective.


I totally understand the message behind A Day Without Women  and the fact that when we come together our power and numbers are incredible, I just don’t agree with some responses to it.

Obviously, not everyone who participated in the day is unaware of this fact but for those that criticize women for not participate in the strike, you’re missing one very important piece of information: Not all women can afford to participate in this day. Before you ask someone how they could possible justify not participating in this protest, check your privilege. Especially in terms of classism.

What about the working moms? What if they are also single mothers? What if one day off could have seriously cost them?

Even if they aren’t from a lower socioeconomic status or have children to feed and a mortgage to pay, what if they had an incredibly important thing to do at work that day. Something that if they bailed on it, could have gotten them fired or just caused a lot of chaos.

For example, in certain cities around the U.S. some schools had to shut down for the lack of teachers. It’s amazing because it shows how vital the role of women is to the education system but…..when schools are closing last minute, what about all of those children? What if their mothers can’t take them to work with them? What if they can’t afford child care? Can you imagine how detrimental it would be if all nurses all over the country decided one day just to not show up to work?

I’m not saying not to participate in the strike. Please do. It shows how much we are needed. But don’t assume that just because you can, everyone else can too. After all, the first International Working Women’s Day did take place on a Sunday because….most people didn’t have to work that day.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Feminism. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Small Problem with A Day Without Women

  1. ashley says:

    I feel like criticizing women for not participating goes against the whole meaning of what the day is. It’s supposed to celebrate women, not bring them down.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I completely agree. I know there was the whole “Wear red if you can’t take leave” option of protest if you were in the situation where it would cost you big time for leaving work. People should understand that there are different ways of spreading a message and protesting.
    I also think, in the sense of schools having no teachers, that the boards should have been notified a head of time so they could find out how many women would be participating. Instead of all these ladies leaving your job without notice, give the boss a heads up in advance.
    I know a lot of women did notify their bosses before participating, but there were still a large sum which did not and that could cause huge problems.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was stuck at work–and got a call the night before to work somebody’s morning shift at the last minute. Dunno if they were sick or not, but I was the last resort, so I was there all day. I’d forgotten all about the Day Without Women thing, and just worked enough hours to probably have the best payday I’ve had in a year. I couldn’t participate even if I wanted to, and I didn’t know enough about what the goals were and such. It felt very last minute, and if we were trying to imitate the movement in (was it Denmark or Sweden that came up with it years ago?), then it didn’t feel like it would work because the men around them were mostly supportive, and it only grew each year when the women walked off the job (I’m trying to find the article about it).

    Yes, I’m one of those women who definitely couldn’t afford it. And when I got home (with a sore throat and on the verge of sick myself), I got treated to dad laughing at some responses on t.v.–from men, regarding their women gone for the day. One said something like I’m going fishing because now she can’t complain about it. Gee, what a 1950s answer. Seriously? I just let it be at that and thankfully had today off instead.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Congrats on the good paycheck but I hope you were able to get some rest today.
      I agree, it did seem a little last minute. Apparently if you couldn’t protest you were supposed to wear red but I don’t even think a lot of people new about that part.
      If you happen to find that article or something similar please send me a link?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I saw that on a few other blogs today talking about the red thing, but I didn’t see it (and the only red shirts I have are my star trek vintage shirt or one “retro” looking one that has a Wonka Nerds mascot that says “Talk nerdy to me.” Yeah, not work appropriate. Did wear purple, so I was partway there (hee hee)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent post Rae! If we can’t respect each other, why should anyone else?💁🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kate says:

    I’m a nurse. I wouldn’t have been happy if my coworkers would have skipped work on this day.

    As a taxpayer and parent, I wouldn’t have been happy if schools closed for this reason. I didn’t hear about any issues with our local schools. It would seem that if schools had to close, that some might have to make up the day just as they do with snow days, maybe that was a deterrent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad to hear that non of your coworkers skipped, I think a lot of people underestimate how much nurses are needed.
      A lot of the school closings were in Maryland specifically since people were marching in D.C. There weren’t enough teachers or transportation staff for kids to get to school. They probably will have to make the day up, I didn’t even think about that :/

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: March Wrap Up! 2017 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

