This or That? #80

For anyone who needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


This week’s question is twofold….

Have you ever read The Giver by Lois Lowry? & Did you read the rest of the quartet?


So, if you didn’t know The Giver is a part of a quartet!

  • The Giver
  • Gathering Blue
  • Messenger
  • Son

My answers for this are yes and then no.

The reason that I asked this is because I currently don’t know anyone who has read past book one.

I read The Giver in school like most people do. I like it. I refuse to watch the movie though because I feel like it will ruin it for me. I haven’t heard any good things about it.

I did not read the rest of the quartet because I had no idea that there was more to the story for a really long time. When I did find out though, I kind of didn’t have any interest in continuing it. Maybe I will one day but for now I don’t really care.

What about you? Have you read any of this series? Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This or That? #80

  1. A friend gave me the book and I enjoyed it very much. I later found out about the series but never went ahead to read it. In my opinion, the movie wasn’t horrible but it could have been better if they had in mind that Jonah was younger than he was portrayed in the film.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: This or That – Journey into Books

  3. Ariel Lynn says:

    I read The Giver, as I think a lot of people do/did, when I was in school. I never knew it was part of a quartet until I read Laura Beth’s post the other day about Lois Lowry. I’m hoping to read the other 3 books (& re-read The Giver) now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh! I have been off blogging for so long and then I saw that this was your 80th this or that and I just freaked out for how much you have improved on your blog from when you first started it to where you are now.Well done on such an amazing blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: February Wrap Up! 2017 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Sarah says:

    To be honest I’d not even heard of The Giver, It wasn’t something that was on the reading list at our school.

    I’m not sure if it was just my school or if it’s not a must read in the UK like it is in the US.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess it’s a US thing because my friend from Australia has also never heard of it! I didn’t even think about that. A good amount of authors from the UK are considered classics here so I guess I thought it was a universal thing

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah says:

        Oh it’s not that we don’t read any American works at all, just not that one, at school I read To Kill A Mockingbird and The Handmaid’s Tale (Canadian author I know so kinda cheating), friends read Catcher In The Rye. We did some American poetry too, Walt Whitman but the curriculum did have a lot of focus on British classics – Dickens, Shakespeare, there wasn’t even much contemporary British work to be honest.

        My English teacher did recommend a lot of extra reading for me though and a lot of that was American, things like Beloved, The Color Purple and The Poisonwood Bible.

        Like

      • Oh yeah I know, I just thought that The Giver was on that list too ya know? I was surprised at how many people actually haven’t read it in the US either.

        Like

      • Sarah says:

        Speaking from personal experience, exactly what you study might have changed since I did my GCSE, but what we had to read for exams was really limited. We had to study a Shakespeare play and a book for the exam. We might have studied another one for practice essays and one for coursework but really not much at all. I did Romeo & Juliet, Great Expectations and To Kill A Mockingbird. I think we did a second play as well, but considering a GCSE course is taught over two years there’s really not a lot of reading required. We certainly weren’t handing in monthly book reports or anything like that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

