Trump’s Presidency

I really didn’t want to say anything today but once again it appears to be necessary.

Yes Donald Trump, a failed businessman with no political experience, is now the President of The United States of America.

Firstly, don’t bother trying to call for unity now when you voted for a man who has created a further divide in this country. And don’t try to tell me that’s not the case when you and I both know that he has insulted and disrespected far too many of the citizens that he is now supposed to lead.

What’s done is done. He’s the president. There is nothing that we can do to change that. However, that does not give you the right to tell people to “get over it” or “move on.” Some people can’t. Some people’s lives will be strongly affect by this. Some people’s lives will be changed because of this. Let other people come to terms with this on their own time.

Just because you have the ability to “not care” about the changes that are going to take place, doesn’t mean that everyone else has to be on the same page as you.Your privilege is showing, please sit down.

Oh and immediately after Trump was sworn in, his administration took down the White House pages on Climate Change and LGBTQ+ rights so yeah…..we’ll see how this goes…


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Trump’s Presidency

  1. Alyssa says:

    I completely agree. I’m tired of hearing “it’ll be better than you think”or “it isn’t gonna be that bad” from people who are privileged in every way. Yes maybe it won’t be that bad for you, but their are others who are terrified. Great post as usual!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Quinn says:

    Well nothing in that inauguration speech made me think he had any interest in trying to unite the country, so that was… interesting. I’m Irish, so I’m watching all of this from across the pond. I think although people over here were initially amused that Donald Trump thought he would run for president (“Can you imagine? He thinks he could be PRESIDENT! The mad yoke!”), they are now completely horrified that millions of people actually voted him into office.

    So I guess what I’m trying to say is… you have both our sympathy and our support. Chin up. Keep fighting the good fight!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Tiana says:

    His presidency has been hard for me to think about. I don’t think I will ever truly understand why and how this came about, but it did and now people are hurting. The man is a child who bullies others into submission he is a man who should have never been given any power. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. Especially when we went from the most compassionate men to ever be president to a man that cares for nothing more then his own selfish gains, I am deeply saddened by it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Your privilege is showing, please sit down.”

    Being completely honest here … you complained in your post about Trump being divisive. Therefore, I assume you feel that being divisive is a Bad Thing.

    Do you not think that the quoted portion above might be a statement that could easily be construed as divisive? (For the record, I construed it that way.)

    Like

    • No. How is telling someone that they have privilege – which we all do one way or another – divisive? In any situation where a minority group is experiencing something that a majority group won’t, the majority can’t tell them how to feel about it. That was what this entire post was about….

      Liked by 1 person

      • Shut up. Your opinion isn’t valued or desired.

        Is the statement above divisive? Seems divisive to me.

        And it’s the same message you’re delivering when you say, “Sit down.”

        Like

      • hahahaha you’re the one that started this conversation (although it’s not much of a conversation since I’m actually trying to have a discussion and you’re just looking for an argument) But if you don’t care about what I have to say then stay off of my blog.

        Like

      • Re-read my comment. I wasn’t telling you to shut up; I was expressing that, by saying “sit down,” you’re telling others to shut up, which is a divisive sentiment.

        Like

      • Right because talking over people when their trying to express their issues is the way to go? Like I said, if you don’t like what I have to say stay off of my page

        Like

  5. Ariel Lynn says:

    When people tell me to “get over it” & “give him a chance,” I say: “Just like you did for 8 years with Obama?” I wish I could say that shuts them up, but it seems like nothing does or will. 😥

    Liked by 1 person

  6. michelle says:

    Even though we can’t change the fact that he’s president, we can weigh in with our representatives about his appalling cabinet appointees, his eventual Supreme Court nominees, and any legislation coming up. Furthermore, we can put our money and time toward electing a different congress in two years, fight to register more voters, work to get out the vote (this last election is an upsetting example of what happens when people stay home instead of voting). We can ask our mayors to make our cities environmentally healthy, to protect our undocumented neighbors, and ask our school boards to protect our schools against the worst excesses of whomever he appoints to gut public education. We can write to our local papers, educate our neighbors, stand up to racism and tyranny and fascism at every turn. We can make alliances with other disenfranchised people, and make sure we don’t work against each other. We don’t have to give him a chance at all. He already has the chance. It’s been given. We DO have to hold him accountable–after all, he works for ALL of us, when last I checked the Constitution.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. michelle says:

    My exhortation to hold him accountable was as much for me as for anyone else. Today we marched (my kids and I), but that can’t be the end to what I do. I can’t say, “Okay, marched, check, wrote a blog, check…I’m good”. I’m going to have to keep showing up, even when I am tired of it. It’s kind of like, “Geez, you’re the racist, Islamophobic, misogynistic, authoritarian, sexual predator, and I have to do all this work to curb your worst inclinations? I didn’t want to spend the next four years doing that!”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. michelle says:

    BTW, just found out you can go to the White House website and sign petitions and/or write letters. One petition started just yesterday, asking DJT to release his tax returns, has over 150,000 signatures already! I also took the time to write a personal letter as to why I think he should release those tax returns. I may make it a habit to write to him frequently–just to add my two cents to his latest lunacy. It’s so easy! And kind of fun! Like, if you wanted to write to tell him to stop worrying about how his inauguration numbers compared to the Women’s Marches, and focus instead on running the country, or if you wanted to tell him his speech sounded like the speech of a super villain, that website provides the perfect outlet. It’s at https://petitions.whitehouse.gov
    Sorry I don’t know how to make that a link.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. panoramiconsciousness says:

    No matter what, Mr. Trump (note – not “President Trump” – he’ll never be my president) will never break my resolve to be a human being before all else. Equal rights = human rights = women’s rights = LGBTQ rights! He may represent the worst, but the light always shines brighter in the dark.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: January Wrap Up! 2017 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

