Rae’s Rules to Remember #68: Blogging Pet Peeves Part 4

You thought I was done didn’t you?! Honestly, so did I but here we go….

  • When people say book blogging is a competition

This only becomes competitive if you make it that way. Usually it starts by comparing yourself to other people and if you start to feel a competitive drive you can’t blame that on someone else. This is a hobby for most people, not a race. If you’re a competitive person and competition  keeps you motivated (that’s great but) that doesn’t mean that you can impose this competition on other bloggers just because you think it’s a competition.

  • When people say, “I disagree with you because…..” and then say something that I never said

Don’t put words in my mouth. I am tired of people trying to argue with me because they took something that I said and then twisted it into something completely different. Seriously. You are reading my words. Don’t add things that I didn’t say. And if you’re unsure about something, ask me about it and make sure you have the facts before you make a fool out of yourself.

  • When I say “you don’t need to apologize to your readers” and someone says, “I’m sorry…oops I did it again lol”

Uh…yeah, you did it on purpose and I don’t find it funny. Seriously, this goes beyond blogging (I’ll explain in a second). What do you have to apologize for? We fully expect you to have a life outside of blogging….that’s a good thing. In fact, it’s a part of the reason that you started your blog in the first place. Outside of blogging, if you’re constantly apologizing, you’re basically apologizing just for being you. Is it worth it?

  • Being called “devil’s advocate” because you don’t agree with someone, ask a clarifying question, or provide another point of view.

When you post a discussion post, you expect people to discuss don’t you? Just because my opinion is different from yours doesn’t mean that I’m starting an argument with you. In fact, I make sure NOT to do that because I hate when people do it to me. On the other hand, you can’t expect everyone to have the same opinion as you. Otherwise, what’s the point in posting a discussion?

  • When people make assumptions based off of something that I didn’t even write

If someone else writes a post about me (someone who clearly hates me) don’t you think it makes sense to get both sides of the story before you judge me? Especially if this person is twisting my words.

Also, if I reblog something, chances are that I do agree with whatever was being said. However, that doesn’t mean that all of my feelings about the topic are included in that reblog. You can’t accurately judge my feelings on something that I didn’t even write. So, before leaving a comment, ask me how I actually feel about it instead of making assumptions. If you do have an issue with the content of the post, take that up with the originally author.

That’s all I’ve got for today. What are some of your blogging pet peeves? Let me know!

~Rae


Similar Posts:


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

 

 

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #68: Blogging Pet Peeves Part 4

  1. [ Smiles ] Worthy blogging pet peeves to have, Rae!

    Like

  2. Pingback: December Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  3. Pingback: 50 Day Bookish Challenge: Day 20 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

