This or That? #69

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


I created a Twitter poll asking what the question should be about this week and the final results said: Authors!

So, this week I want to know……

Do you have a favorite author? If so, who are they? Which of their books would you recommend to someone who has never read their work before?


If you’ve been following me for a while then you know that I love Jodi Picoult!

This woman is a genius and she writes about things that most people don’t want to talk about which is definitely something that I can appreciate.

Her most recent novel, Small Great Things, is my favorite of all time. You can click the link for the review! This book is incredibly important to me and was very helpful as I was reading it in the aftermath of the recent election. This is really something that everyone should read. It may make you uncomfortable, but it’s supposed to. Your job is to figure out why you’re feeling discomfort, lean into it, and decide if you’re going to do anything about it.

My second favorite by her is My Sister’s Keeper. This is the one that I typically recommend because it’s not as heavy as some of her others. It was actually the first book that I read by her and I’ve been hooked ever since. Such a good read and DO NOT compare it to the movie. The movie was terrible, did not do it justice and they completely changed the ending.

Other books that I’ve read by her include: The Tenth Circle, Salem Falls, The Pact, Nineteen Minutes, Change of Heart, Plain Truth and the novella for Small Great Things called Shine.

I am currently reading Leaving Time and it is phenomenal!

What about you? Who is you absolute favorite author (if you have one)? Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This or That? #69

  1. At this time, my favorite author is Ilona Andrews, a team of husband and wife who write Urban Fantasy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Harlan Coben is my all time favorite author! Some of his best books are Tell No One and Stay Close!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ariel Lynn says:

    I haven’t read Jodi Picoult yet, but I added your favorite book to my Amazon wishlist. Hopefully, I’ll be getting a couple of Amazon gift cards this holiday season! *fingers crossed*

    It’s tough to say, but I’d have to say Stephen King or William Shakespeare. I think Shakespeare is a bit of a headache to read, though, & few people understand or appreciate him nowadays. Whenever I find someone who does, I think they’re super cool. LOL

    I’d have to go with Stephen King. He drives his stories forward with such ease. I would probably recommend someone unfamiliar with his writing start with his short stories. But, if you want to read some of his best work, I’d recommend “It.” So scary!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: This or That? #69 – Lolsys Library

  5. hrich1599 says:

    Hi! I love your site, especially This or That.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: December Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

