Manipulation – the Pro-Life Arguments 

Recently I’ve seen a few blog posts and Twitter entries that are very good at playing the emotional card – using certain imagery and ideas to convey an agenda.  Exhibit A: Exhibit …

Source: Manipulation – the Pro-Life Arguments 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Manipulation – the Pro-Life Arguments 

  1. [ Smiles ] Pro-Life is not a new argument, albeit an interesting one.

    Where I am concerned, I believe that all life deserves a chance to flourish!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t get me wrong, I respect people who are pro life no matte what their reason is even though I’m pro-choice. But as someone who has health issue and also doesn’t want children I think that women should have the chance to make a decision about having a baby or not

      Liked by 1 person

      • [ Smiles ] Your statement is most valid.

        However, instead of abortion, a child can be put up for adoption (There are people who are eager to adopt a child).

        Like

      • Oh I know that for sure! And if I ever decided I did want a child, that’s the route I would take.
        My doctors have already told me that if I got pregnant, I would most likely would miscarry. I also can’t ignore the fact that pregnancy puts a huge amount of stress on any woman’s body.
        Even though I am pro-choice, I don’t know for sure (if I didn’t have health issues) that I personally would get an abortion but I still think the option should be available.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Krysta says:

    Using imagery and emotions isn’t a strategy only used by the pro-life movement, though. I could just as easily point towards memes created by pro-choice groups or individuals. And historically images have been used as powerful tools to, yes, create an emotional response in the viewer in the hopes of inspiring change. Emmett Till’s photo was used to encourage the Civil Rights movement. Images of the Holocaust are shown to make sure we “never forget.” Photographs of the American Civil War have been credited with changing the way Americans thought of war because the people at home could suddenly see the effects of war. Photographs of poverty have been used to encourage social activism. We have ads with sad puppies to encourage donations to animal shelters. Any movement can–and probably has–appealed to the emotions. That in and of itself can’t be enough to condemn the movement.

    Like

    • I’m not condemning anything and actually, if you look at the comments from my previous conversation, you’ll see my thoughts toward the pro-life argument which you can’t accurately determine by jumping to conclusions because I reblogged this one post.

      Like

      • Krysta says:

        I was responding specifically to this post, however. I’m afraid I didn’t go through your entire blog to see what else you’ve written on the same subject. I think I will peacefully step away from this conversation now.

        Like

      • I wasn’t starting an argument but you can’t judge my personal opinion off of something that I didn’t even write. And the comments attached to this post same post have my thoughts clearly outlined

        Like

      • Krysta says:

        I was responding to the article you reblogged, not saying that you personally had condemned the movement. When the article implies that the pro-life argument is invalid because it uses pathos, I find this unconvincing as a rhetorical strategy on the part of the author since every movement uses pathos.

        And every movement probably uses memes. Memes are supposed to be for the in-group. That is, pro-life people presumably reblog pro-life memes to people who already agree with them. Their being in the same in-group is what allows the meme to work since it, by nature, refers to something the group is supposed to already know, and therefore would not include a long list of facts about abortion. The meme isn’t intentionally obscuring anything because the makers of the meme assume that everyone agrees with them and nothing needs to be obscured. Pro-choice individuals do the same thing with pro-choice memes. A person posts the meme to their pro-choice blog or to their FB page where most of their friends already share their political views because they expect everyone to “get” it, that is, to agree with them. They don’t add a list of abortion facts to their memes, either, because that’s not how a meme works.

        I understand you reblogged this, but I had thought it was to start a dialogue about the content of the article. I did not mean in any way to suggest that you agreed with the rhetorical strategies employed by the original author or with the content.

        Like

      • I see what you’re saying.
        However, I don’t think that Ben meant that the argument was invalid, especially not because of appealing to emotions and I certainly did not interpret it that way.
        I agree that pro-choice campaigns also use emotional images and such but I think Ben’s point was that he felt it was manipulative because all of the posts that he saw were posted by men – who themselves will never have to face this decision and how an abortion could affect their body.
        Does that makes sense?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. darthtimon says:

    Appeal to emotion through evocative imagery and arguments appears to be the main recourse of the pro-life movement. It is predominantly men in positions of authority that determine what abortion laws are (if any). It’s also been my observation that it’s men who post emotional pictures and arguments regarding abortion, rather than any logical arguments or factual statements. Appeals to emotion have their place – this isn’t one of them, not when 70,000 women die every year because of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: December Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

