Safety Pins

By now, many of you have probably seen this picture below or people posting pictures of themselves wearing safety pins.

14993346_655485241298481_6421364544248999261_n

At first, I thought that this was a great way to show solidarity and to let people know that they’re not alone.

However, if you put a safety pin on in the the morning to wear throughout the day and that is ALL you’re doing to “support” underrepresented or minoritized group then no thank you. Your fake support isn’t wanted or needed.

Yes, this is a lovely concept in the wake of the election, but at the end of the day this really doesn’t help anyone.

Also, if you’re someone who calls yourself and ally simply for the sake of making yourself feel like you’re not prejudiced…..stop. For example, if you identify a feminist but are transphobic or deny that gender nonconforming people exist then you’re not a real feminist. If you voted for Trump but wear a safety pin and can’t see the irony in that, take it off. If you can’t check your own privilege or feel uncomfortable when that word is brought up, then you definitely shouldn’t be wearing one.

Being an ally is more than an identity, it’s an action. And by action, I do not mean wearing a pin. If you really think that that is enough, then that’s a part of the problem. At the end of the day, you wearing a pin means nothing.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Feminism. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Safety Pins

  1. YES YES YES YES YES YES and YES! At first I thought the safety pin idea was a good idea, I then thought more into it and realised it isn’t. I 100% agree with everything you’ve said here
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ShesAllSass says:

    I read another article (unfortunately I don’t remember where) that said these safety pins are nothing but a symbol of white guilt and an empty gesture for people to say, “I swear I’m not like them.”

    While I wouldn’t go that far, I think that there’s some truth in the fact that people are desperate to demonstrate that they’re good, non-discriminatory people. I think (and hope) that given the opportunity to stand up for anyone, most people would do so, with or without a pin. I guess the good thing about it is that if someone who feels threatened is actively seeking help from someone in public, your pin will be a symbol to them. But I’m just conflicted as to the true purpose of these. People aren’t always honest with themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm… I can see how it could be the white guilt thing but if that’s the case and people don’t realize that there’s much more to do that wear a pin then….well I guess nothing can be done about that. I agree, I want to believe that people who just do the right thing but I honestly don’t know that they would.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Celebrating the Little Things Tag | bookmarkchronicles

  4. michelle says:

    I actually like the idea of wearing a pin in theory, but can see how it can get co-opted and diluted (like all those colored ribbons people wore on their lapels, but didn’t mean anything really–or those rubber bracelets). Still, it would be great if there were a way to signal to a stranger that you are safe. And I AM safe: I have training from my work as a nurse in self defense and de-escalation, and I work with differently abled people–non-verbal, hearing impaired, signing etc…and I don’t have any groups that i’d feel uncomfortable around (except maybe angry white racist folks?).

    And sometimes I would love to know if someone is safe before I talk to them also. So if the safety pin is now a bad idea, is there a good one? I get that talking to people is the best idea, but sometimes it’s hard to know who is safe to talk to. I got into an awful conversation at work with a self-hating woman who said she didn’t have any problem with the way Trump talked about women because she “knows women and they are pigs”. This is a lady I’ve known in a professional way for years, and I was blindsided and sickened (she went on to say much worse).

    So, to pin or not to pin? It doesn’t really matter. But I am tired of sussing people out post election (did you vote that way or not? are you sad or rejoicing? are you finally freed to be the racist you always were, or are you now scared?) It’s tiring and disheartening.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you! I have been seeing folks wearing these and scratching my head. It seems like a nice gesture – but you said it best … we need more ACTION.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: November Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

