Privilege and the 2016 Election

Yup, I’m going to talk about privilege and no I don’t care if that makes you uncomfortable!

A lot of people have exposed their privilege in talking about this election. For example: scrolling through my news feed I saw a lot of people expressing fear and concern for the future of this country.

And then I saw someone say “take a breath and let it go”

I mean I get it. We have to accept the results, there’s nothing that we can do about them. The thing is… some people can’t just let it go. Some people are worried about how this will affect them and their families.

Then this same person said that the “real tragedy” was that Kate McKinnon wouldn’t be portraying Hillary on SNL for the next four years. Again, I get it. It was a joke. But for some of us this isn’t a joke. Even if I wasn’t concerned for myself as a woman of color I would still be concerned for my LGBTQIA+ loved ones because our new Vice President elect thinks that shock therapy can “convert” you to heterosexuality. So while some people are making jokes and are completely unphased by this, not everyone is and I can’t ignore that.

Then, someone (a complete stranger) commented on my blog and recited the definition of racism to me, said that they have helped black and Latinx “friends” fight racism, and then told me that Trump isn’t racist because he had some minority supporters.

First of all, I don’t fucking need you to quote the definition of racism to me when I’ve been on the receiving end of it. And you (as a white person) don’t get to tell me what is or isn’t racist. I also didn’t appreciate this person’s use of the term “colored” and if you don’t get why then you need to check your privilege too. And after I told this person that I was offended by their words, they didn’t bother to apologize (although I’m not surprised) and went on to tell me that I was biased and deluded.

Well you (whoever you are) proved my point, because you are a part of the problem. And yes, Trump had some minority supporters. So the fuck what? You know who supported him? People like Stacey Dash, who is a black woman who is incredibly prejudiced against black people and wants to pretend that she isn’t a person of color. So yeah, your argument is complete bullshit, but please go on and continue to turn a blind eye to what’s right in front of your face because you have the luxury of not having to deal with it.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Privilege and the 2016 Election

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Reblogged this on Coalition of the Brave.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha! Just read through the comments. I know it’s not *funny*, but you’ve got to find a way to laugh it off; otherwise you’ll go crazy. The combination of profound ignorance and stupidity that’s out there is amazing.
    Do you remember what happened all those years ago when Michelle Obama started talking about the importance of healthy eating? Right wingers framed it as if she had committed some sort of heinous crime. How dare she tell us what to eat and blah bla blah…

    Like

  3. Speaking as a white woman who except for my gender and that I’m 1/2 Jewish, doesn’t fall into any of the demographics that this monster has targeted, I’m terrified. There is nothing funny about what has happened. 😔

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yesterday was shocking for us all. Personally, I’m a queer, disabled, female rape survivor who benefits from a whole lot of white and straight-passing privilege. The most important thing that we’ve got to remember now is that our allies have now been laid bare. We know who we can turn to for help — and mobilization. The next four years are going to be rough, but as long as we remain united against this tide of fascism (better call it what it is), then we’ll come out of it stronger than ever.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. I totally agree with you. I realize that people are trying to make peace with it, but making normalizing or “let it go” comments diminish the very real problems. I don’t get to decide how bad this is going to be, or tell others how to cope. I’m definitely not going to “let it go.” I will find my peace, and find ways to help others as much as I can, and also try to recognize my privilege by realizing that others have it worse than me. The best I can do right now is listen, believe, support, and validate, not give diminishing platitudes like “it’ll be ok.”

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Pingback: November Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

