Today is the Day

To go out and vote for the next President of the United States of America.

Of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion and you’re free to disagree with me but I’m going to blunt about this and really don’t care how anyone feels about it if you can’t bother to see this from someone else’s point of view.

One of two things will happen today. Either this country will take a giant step forward, break glass ceilings and elect its first female president.

Or we will take a giant step backward and not only elect someone who has no political experience but prove that a majority of people really don’t care about the state of this country or its citizens.

If you live outside of the U.S. (and you’ve been doing this) do me favor. Stop trashing America. You may not like what’s going on here, but you don’t have to live here and deal with the outcome. Also, you trashing the country as a whole and disregarding that not all of us are okay with or proud of some of the shit that happens here is really fucking annoying. So your rude and ignorant comments about this country you can keep to yourself.

If you are registered to vote but are choosing not to: I get it. Both candidates suck but don’t complain about an outcome that you had the opportunity to influence it… and didn’t.

If you are voting for a third party candidate: I get it. I do. But you and I both know that no third party candidate is going to win this election so whatever the outcome, you can’t complain. I mean, you can’t but you passed up the opportunity to contribute to one of the parties that is guaranteed to win, so don’t.

If you voting for Trump: remove yourself from my blog, my social media and from my life. Voting for Trump tells me that you don’t care about my rights or my safety as a woman. It also tells me that you see me as less than because I’m a person of color and (more specifically) as an African American you see me as a statistic.

Choose wisely.

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in #BlackLivesMatter, Feminism, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today is the Day

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m super worried I’ve been trashing America. I mean, not on purpose … but jokes, you know?? Like my NWR story?? Is that the type of things you mean? I mean, I’m genuinely concerned about the election, and the outcome, and everything it will mean … but I’m so sorry if I’m one of those people who have been trashing America. It wasn’t my intention, and I’m so sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You may have done it once in a tweet. But there are some people saying Americans are stupid, we’ll cause another world war, we’ve destroyed democracy and other shit

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Fair enough!! I’m glad I haven’t done it too much. I can’t believe the outcome, or what’s happened, or any of it. I can’t believe Australia’s also lost 47 billion. I can’t believe the negative effects and he isn’t in power.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: November Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

