I’m not a fan of BookTube

Image result for booktube

As I mentioned in last weeks This or That? Challenge, I have never used BookTube. Today I decided to try it out and overall…..I’m not impressed.

The top  BookTube recommendations were:

I looked at all of these and I liked some of Christine’s videos but the chances that I’ll check her page regularly is pretty slim.

I really like the idea of BookTube but for some reason it just doesn’t really keep my attention. I’d rather read people’s blogs and interact with them that way. Maybe it’s a matter of reading vs watching. I don’t really know.

I think it may also have to do with the delivery of the video. Obviously, since they’re talking to a camera, they have to be animated, excited, and catch people’s attention, but sometimes it feels like they’re straining to do it ya know? Sometimes it seems like fake excitement. It doesn’t work for me.

So basically, I will continue to not use BookTube.

Has anyone else tried out BookTube recently? Did you find anything that interested you? If you are someone who uses Booktube, what do you like about it? Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Bookish Stuff, Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m not a fan of BookTube

  1. Pingback: This or That? #67 | bookmarkchronicles

  2. nickimags says:

    I just watched very brief clips of these videos and it’s definitely not for me. Give me a book blog any day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: November Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  4. Depends on the person honestly. I do booktube, and sometimes you do have to turn it on but some people are SOOOO happy to me it feels off and fake like polandbananabooks, katytastic, nayareadsandsmiles and sometimes jessethereader. I’m not saying that what I do is better than them, I just can’t stand those vibes in rl so of course the videos don’t gel with me, so I try to be happy but a natural kind way that is entirely me. I think it’s important to search around and find people you do like, most of my super faves are not the ones with hundreds of thousands of followers, so to quote the movie Princess and the Frog I’ve got to “dig a little deeper.” XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

