Standalone Sunday | #2

I completely missed this last week but…..Standalone Sunday is a feature created by Megan @ bookslayerReads. Click the link to check out her first post from last week and read about the book she chose. *Also, the image used for this post was created by Megan*


My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

10917Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged… until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

A provocative novel that raises some important ethical issues,My Sister’s Keeper is the story of one family’s struggle for survival at all human costs and a stunning parable for all time.


This was the first book by Jodi Picoult that I ever read and is my favorite. (Currently reading Small Great Things which may become my new favorite or a close second). I can’t remember how I got a hold of it, although I’m pretty sure it was recommended by someone. This story is phenomenal, not only because it’s so well written, but because the story itself is a real page turner. If you’ve never read one of Picoult’s books, this is a good one to start with because it’s not as heavy as some of her other work. She really does a good job of tackling issues that need to be addressed. The movie that they produced for this was absolutely terrible and did not do the book justice at all. If you have only seen the movie, you are missing out!

What standalones would you recommend? Let me know in the comments or write your own post and link it back to Megan!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

 

 

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Bookish Stuff, Standalone Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Standalone Sunday | #2

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Do you mean stand-alones from Jodi Piccoult, or just in general?
    I think one of my favourite of Piccoult’s is Nineteen Minutes. It makes me really understand what it must be like for *some* shooters. Not all, and not an excuse, but it humanises them, and I like that.
    Stand alones that are not by Piccoult are (and some I’ve told you before):
    – Before I Fall (Lauren Oliver – being made into a movie!)
    – Dreamland (Sarah Dessen)
    – Just Listen (Sarah Dessen)
    – All The Rage (Courtney Summers)
    – Big Little Lies (Liane Moriarity – it’s been made into a HBO series! Eeep!)
    – Truly, Madly Guilty (Liane Moriarity)
    – The Hypnotist’s Love Story (as above)
    – The Husband’s Secret (as above)
    – Gimme a Kiss (Christopher Pike)
    – What Alice Forgot (Liane Moriarity)
    – Remember Me? (Sophie Kinsella)
    I could keep going, but these are some of my favourites 🙂 https://bookslayerreads.wordpress.com/2016/10/23/standalone-sunday/

    Liked by 1 person

    • In general! I’m going to read Just Listen after I finish Small Great Things (finally)

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Ooooh what’s Small Great Things about!?

        Also, you need to get on the Liane Moriarty boat! I wish we lived near each other, I’d lend you my books all the time.

        And steal yours …

        The rule though is that you must use bookmarks! Which is something you and I strongly agree with. I remember that post. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Small Great Things is about a black woman who works in a hospital and gets taking off of her patient’s case because the parents are white supremacists. It’s so well written and I’m already getting the feels from it

        Ugh okay…more things to add to the never ending list lol

        Omg I know it would be so great we could exchange books ALL the time! lol I remember the bookmark convo too! My current bookmark is a magnetic elephant, its so cute!

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        How cute!!!!! I have several – they’re all owls or flowers with owls. I really like owls!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo! So glad you are participating! I love getting some good recommendations! I’ve not read any Jodi Picoult but I’d like to. You have definitely convinced me to start with this one when I do get around to reading her work. Thanks for the rec! And as soon as I get my post up in a few, I’ll link you up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Standalone Sunday :: 10/30/16 | :: bookslayerReads ::

  4. This is an amazing book! Great choice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love Jodi Picoult, she is such an amazing writer.
    However I have not read this one.
    My favourites would have to be The Pact and Nineteen Minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

