Rae’s Rules to Remember #63: Blogging Pet Peeves Part 3

Oh yes! There are more!

If you missed part 1 and/or part 2 the links are below.

First let me start with my ultimate pet peeve because people continue to do it…..STOP BLOGGING TO SATISFY OTHER PEOPLE. Why are you stressing yourself out over someone else’s opinion? Blog for you, no one else. No one else is putting pressure on you to blog more, you’re doing it to yourself.

Now for new things….

  • Don’t read books that you aren’t interested in just because they’re popular or other people are reading it

It does not matter if literally every single person that you know is reading a brand new release by some super famous author. If you’re not interested, don’t read it. Why waste your time reading hundreds of pages that you don’t care about? Seriously? What’s the point?  Just because other people are talking about it doesn’t mean that you have to too.

  • You don’t have to write a review for every book that you read

This isn’t a rule. If you don’t want to write the review then don’t do it. You’re not obligated to. If you do want to then great, do it! But if you don’t, no one is going to reprimand you for it and if they do, tell them that you don’t owe them anything. Again, the only person that puts this pressure on you…is you.

  • When someone comments on a post but doesn’t actually have anything to say

This happened last week. Someone left a ridiculously long comment on a post that I kindly responded to and tried to suck me into a never ending, completely pointless conversation. I caught on early, tried to see if they actually had a point (they didn’t) and told them that I would not be replying to their comments anymore. Thankfully, after that they stopped. Literally all this person wanted was to start a debate AND they tried it with two other people (leaving the exact same comment) and failed.

  • When people follow me and/or tell me to follow their blog but they haven’t set it up yet

Obviously, you want people to follow your blog so that you can interact. but I personally don’t think you should promote your blog unless it’s set up. What I mean by that is layout, title of the blog, and either a post or page about you and what you will blog about. If you follow me, I’m like “ooh a new follower, let’s go see what they’re all about” so if I go to the page and there’s nothing there, I’m not going to follow you back. At least have a name for you blog before you promote it, that’s the bare minimum. That might sound judgmental but I don’t just follow people blindly.

That’s all I’ve got for today. What are some of your blogging pet peeves? Let me know!

~Rae


Similar Posts:


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Bookish Stuff, Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #63: Blogging Pet Peeves Part 3

  1. I agree with so many of these, Rae!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. dbsgirl says:

    Totally agree with them!
    … but I do one of them. I review every book I read. I don’t necessarily published them (certainly not on this blog, I have another more book-centric blog), but I have this compulsion that I have to write a review for every book otherwise I’ve ‘failed.’ It’s bloody annoying! But the guilt is too much. I’ve got in a vicious circle, and I actually enjoy reading less because of it. It’s not just vicious, it’s sad. My favourite thing in the world has become a chore.

    Anyway. That was a bit tangential.

    Oh God, posting on a post without anything to say? Am I doing that? You’re making me ultra paranoid. Can you tell me if I am. I’ve never had that on my blog, but that’s because no one ever comments!

    BUT DEFINITELY DON’T BLOG TO PLEASE OTHER PEOPLE. That, I can relate to my friend.

    (let me know if if this breaks your rules. I’d rather know).

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  4. Pingback: Rae’s Rules to Remember #68: Blogging Pet Peeves Part 4 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

