Intersex Awareness Day

Today is Intersex Awareness Day, so let’s talk about the “I” in LGBTQIAP+!

I don’t actually know anyone that identifies as intersex so if you do or know someone that does, please link some resources in the comments below. I found two articles from Everyday Feminism that might also be helpful to anyone who wants to learn more.


If you were to Google “intersex” right now, this is what would come up:

“A general term used for a variety of conditions in which a person is born with a reproductive or sexual anatomy that doesn’t seem to fit the typical definition so female or male”

I don’t really like this definition to be honest (although it really isn’t my place to judge). I don’t like the term “doesn’t seem to fit the typical” I don’t like when members of this community are referred to as if they are not normal. I’ve seen too many friends suffer and feel ostracized because of it. Also, the assumption of a female/male binary ignores a lot of peoples’ identities.

I watched a documentary about intersex children in my sociology class in college that was really good, but I cannot remember the name of it. I Googled it and the one that keeps coming up is called Intersexion but I’m pretty sure that’s not the one. Does anyone else know what I’m talking about? I cannot find it!

Anyway it talked about how doctor’s decided how to tell the parents when they discovered that their baby was intersex and perform what was called genital reshaping surgery on the infant. The motto they used was, “It’s easier to dig a hole than it is to build a pole” or something like that. Basically meaning that they told the parents that they had a little girl. In the documentary, they interviewed two people who grew up intersex and they talked about when they found out (the parents kept it from them), how they reacted and how it impacted their lives later on.

It was a good documentary, if I find the name of it I will post a link to it or something.

Again, if you have any resources post them below!


Everyday Feminism Articles:


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Intersex Awareness Day

  1. That comment the doctor said is shocking. Dreadful!

    Like

  2. Ariel Lynn says:

    Reblogged this on Writing Radiation and commented:
    I’m a day behind. Happy belated Intersex Awareness Day! It’s time to learn about the “I” in LGBTQIA+. Rae wrote a brilliant post with some great links in it. Take a moment to familiarize yourself with Intersex issues, & share your stories if you have any.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dbsgirl says:

    I’m really annoyed that I didn’t realise it was intersex awareness day yesterday. I would have done something to mark it. Better late than never. Thank you for letting me know.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

