Luke Cage “Controversy”

Netflix released a new show called Luke Cage. The show is about a black man who lives in Harlem. And for that people are calling it racist.

White people are complaining that the show is racist because the majority of the characters are black. I mean, I guess it doesn’t matter that it takes place in a historically black community so it makes complete sense to cast it realistically with characters that are black and Latinx. 

“Lack of white people in Luke Cage makes me uncomfortable. This show is racist, how is this on Netflix???”

Yup, that is an actual tweet that someone posted. Here’s another…

“Is it me or the new Netflix. Luke Cage a little racist. Notice it’s mostly black where is the diversity”

Oh so now you want to talk about diversity? Interesting.

You know, while this is happening, I don’t hear anyone complaining about Scarlett Johansson recently being cast as a Japanese woman in Ghost in a Shell. Oh no. That’s perfectly okay right. You have no problem with white washing and eliminating the culture of minorities but once you’re not the center of attention you cry victim. Cause that’s what this is about right? Lack of representation (in one tv show)? Do you not realize that this is the exact same story that minorities have been trying to draw attention to since basically forever? That even with Luke Cage having a majority black cast there are still tons of tv shows, movies and books that have little to no minorities at all?

And it’s not like there’s just zero white people whatsoever. They’re are there, they have speaking roles. Get the fuck over yourself and accept the fact that everything isn’t about you. I mean seriously, minorities find something to celebrate and then privileged little brats have to rain on the parade. Shut the fuck up and if you don’t like it, don’t watch.


Similar Posts:


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in #BlackLivesMatter, Discussion, Feminism, TV Review. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Luke Cage “Controversy”

  1. For reals?! Are you sure they weren’t trolls?lol…Sometimes you just have to give up on humanity!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I like it. I don’t mind that the majority of characters are black, it just makes sense. I’m Australian, and even I knew that Harlem was a predominately PoC community (I wasn’t sure if it was mmainly African-Americans, or what; I just knew there was at least a stereotype in movies). I think it’s great, the actors are great, and it’s about fucking time we had a main cast that wasn’t largely white.

    It’s one of the reasons I’m into this new Australian show – The Wrong Girl – the main love interest is an Aboriginal, but that’s not the point. It’s not “hey, there’s an interracial couple” (there’s more than one in the show already), it’s just, “Hey, there’s a guy, and he’s hot, and the girls like him”. It’s acknowledging the diversity, and adding so much more to it, without making it an issue. It’s a nice change.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve only watched one episode so far but I’m getting into it. Aside from looking for something to cry about, the people that complain have obviously never been to Harlem. It’s about 65% black 17% Latinx.

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I just think white people don’t get anything about reality. And we’re incredibly fragile, and seem to take everything as an attack. It’s bloody pathetic. I think I’ve watched four. I don’t like it as much as Jessica Jones or Daredevil … but I think that had a lot to do with the fact that I love David Tennant, so I watched JJ for him, and I loved both the superhero and the villain in DD (DD is from one of my favourite movies, Stardust, and Mr White is in, like, everything. He was the bad guy in Jurassic World, MIB, he was in Law and Order Criminal Intent … so many things. So I watched those shows, originally, because of those actors, and those actors got me hooked. I’m not sure I’d have had the same reaction to the story line. But then again, I do like Marvel a lot, and I’m loving Luke Cage, and all these over Marvel shows. (Though not Arrow or Flash.)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Chi says:

    I was happy to see it

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    This doesn’t even bring in the part about Harlem’s gentrification & pushing of minorities out of the neighborhood in recent years. But, I’ll leave that alone (it infuriates me).

    These people need to seriously realize life isn’t all about them. Do they complain about Empire? (Probably, but they still shouldn’t.)

    This reminds me: did you see the kerfuffle Tim Burton raised & a brilliant response from, as it’s titled, “a black fangirl?” It almost makes me wish I hadn’t purchased tickets for Mrs. Pettigrew’s earlier that day!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved so many Tim Burton movies and I was looking forward to watching Nightmare Before Christmas soon but idk if I can anymore. I just can’t do it. On the bright side Ben & Jerry’s has publicly supported Black Lives Matter so at least I don’t have to give up ice cream 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Thank goodness for small favors!! 😀

        Tim Burton is a jacka**, regardless. It’s such a disappointment. Although, not unexpected from a rich white guy. Still… you’d think someone who speaks so much to people who are outcasts would be a bit more freakin’ empathetic.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know. I was completely blindsighted by that but this is the world we live in

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I’m only glad I found this out before I see Mrs. Pettigrew’s. It will give me a new lens to watch it through. But, we live in a cr*ppy world. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Also, I’m glad about Ben & Jerry’s. Are they gonna release a BLM flavor – if they haven’t already? I would buy that, if only to show solidarity through my gluttony. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Honestly, I hope not, I don’t think that would be a good idea

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Do you think it would cause backlash from the jerks who oppose the BLM movement? Or that it would be an attempt to monetize the movement, which would be very much upsetting to people? Honestly, both are good reasons why it would be a bad idea, I simply hadn’t thought of them before I asked.

        Like

      • No. I think it would piss off people who do support BLM. What would the flavor be, a bunch of chocolate? It’s bad enough our skin color is already so fetishized and we’re tired of being compared to and described in terms of food (chocolate, caramel, mocha, etc.). It would completely contradict their support if they did that

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        That sort of links to my 2nd reason it might piss people off (Ben & Jerry’s making money off the BLM movement would piss a lot of people off, I would think… I would hope, anyway). However, I hadn’t thought of the fetishizing of skin color (white privilege rears its ugly head again!).

        Honestly, if they really support BLM, I would think that giving a portion of their profits would do much better than a flavor.

        I do so love Ben & Jerry’s ice cream though. I really want some Half Baked right now. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  7. What…. are you saying that a story set in Harlem based on a comic series inspired by the Blaxploitation genre is… mainly black??? (shock!)

    Sigh, as a white woman(I’m sorry about Trump! If I was American I’d totally have voted against him!) these ‘reverse racist’ people make me want to bash my head against a wall, so I can’t imagine how irritating it must be for you to have to listen to them. Anyway, just started Luke Cage and I’m enjoying it so far. Love the complex array of characters, especially Luke himself and detective Misty Knight

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

