This or That? #59

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


This week’s question is…

Have you ever started a series and not finished it? If so, why?


Yes I have left some series unfinished BUT only because I didn’t know that it was a series. Night by Elie Wiesel (trilogy), The Giver by Lois Lowry (Quartet) and A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (Quintet) were all books that I’ve read, under the impression that they were standalones. I didn’t find out until years later that there was more to all of these stories. To be honest I wanted to read the books that followed, but now I don’t really know if I will. If I did, I’d probably read the rest of The Giver but not the other two.

What about you? Have you ever left a series unfinished? Was it intentional? Will you ever finish it? Let me know!

~Rae


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to This or That? #59

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    The Tomorrow When The War Began series. I’m not sure if I just didn’t like it, or I got sick of it because I kept having to read the same book in English over and over and over again that the idea of reading the rest was torture. But usually not. I can’t think of any others, but maybe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • What?! I really want to read this series! (I saw the movie and loved it, but I have a major love for post-apoc. Hee hee!)

      Liked by 2 people

      • carlalouise89 says:

        The movie is SO DIFFERENT to the novels! So different. I know exactly what happens in all of the novels – kids – but I haven’t read it.
        That also might be why – all my kids told me exactly what happened to each character, and the war, so there wasn’t a need!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aw. They spoilered it? That’s a shame.
        Well, similar or different, I still want to try it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I didn’t mind! Kids get so excited about stuff; to be honest, I encouraged it, because kids don’t often read. I really liked that they liked the series so much!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah. Yeah, that would make sense. Gotta encourage them even if it means sacrificing yourself. :p

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        So true!! And they were really into it, which is so rare. My favourite novels I’ve ever read to my kids are ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ and ‘Tomorrow, When The War Began’. They are the only two books that have hooked entire classes. I mean, I’ve read other books, and mostly kids have been enthralled … but those two, all kids love. Even my difficult students.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow. That’s fascinating! I wonder why those books.

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I think it’s because, with Tomorrow, When The War Began, it deals with things like sex and violence. That intrigues the boys, who love and idolise Homer. They also all know there’s a movie, so they’re so excited to see the movie, and they like that there’s hot chicks in it.
        The girls like it because they like Ellie. She’s someone they can relate to, and they like the romance thrown in, as well as the action, which makes everything tense and interesting. They also contemplate the idea of war, and if Australia is prepared and what would happen!?

        For The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, they’re both affected by the fact that the holocaust is real. By that age (thirteen-fourteen), most of them haven’t heard a lot about it. Some actually haven’t heard anything about it, which I find both saddening and disappointing. They’re fascinated by the whole process, and what happens, and the innocence resonates with them. I also do a massive history lesson with each chapter of the novel, so they become addicted to the holocaust itself (but are terribly saddened by the end. And when I point out the reality that Shmuel would have been killed immediately upon arrival.) I also talk to them about communism, and Stalin’s reign, as well … and they love it.

        I think they like being treated like adults, really, and dealing with adult-like topics, but from a “kid” type perspective.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wait Wait Wait. You’re teaching these books in your class? Like… your school allows you to teach these? 0.o

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Yeah, they’re part of our curriculum! Why’s that?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Our schools would never allow anything published in the last 50 years to be taught in schools. Maybe not even the last 100 years. All we were allowed to read was super old English literature or like… 1800s American literature. (aka nothing relevant in this day and age anymore.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Wow!! I think that’s terrible. I thought our system was outdated with some of the novels we keep … but nope. We’re pretty good!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, Melanie! Is that a Mid West thing? Cause it’s totally different on the East Coast!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I never finished the Eragon series because I just could not get through the second book, Eldest. Honestly, the writing wasn’t very good. Maybe I’ll try again… in a decade, but I can’t say it’s something I’ll pick up any time soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ariel Lynn says:

    I didn’t know about The Giver either! I only found out about Night a couple of months ago, & I haven’t read it yet so I think I’ll decide that after I read Night.

    Back on-topic: Yes. I read the 1st of a Stephen King series. I think it was the Gunslinger series. I just didn’t like it. Other than that, I can’t think of any other series I’ve started but haven’t finished.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: This or That? #59 – Lolsys Library

  5. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: October Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

