This or That? #58

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


This week’s question is…

If you are reading a series that has novellas, do you always read them?


Note that “always” is underlined and therefore, “sometimes” is not an option! 🙂

If you’re unsure about what classifies as a novella, it’s basically a short story within the series. They are typically no more than 100 pages, sometimes tell the story from a different character’s point of view, and take place either in between or before the main novels of the series (so a lot of times they are labeled as .5 or 1.5). Some people think that they aren’t 100% necessary for the story, but that they just give a little extra background detail.

I always read them. Always, always, always. If I don’t read them, I feel like I’m missing something. I gotta have all the details. And if I’m really enjoying the series, I’ll blow through a novella pretty quickly and just move on the the next novel.

I personally think they’re important to the series. When I read the Shatter Me series, the reason that I changed my mind about Warner so quickly was because I read his novella.

What about you? Do you read novellas? Do you think they’re necessary? Let me know!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This or That? #58

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I have read novellas before – not many, Of Mice and Men and Gimme a Kiss (both great) – but never in a series!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kristianw84 says:

    I always read novella’s. My thought is if the author took the time to write them, I should take the time to read them! 🙂 Like you said, it usually gives a background of a character or a relationship, or an important part of the story. Always worth the read! I haven’t read many novella’s, but I’ve read a few!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never read the novellas. I don’t particularly enjoy them because I don’t feel they’re necessary. Honestly, to me, they seem more like the authors inability to let the story go than anything. After all, if this information was necessary for the story, it would be in the main book, not just an after thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    As usual, great question!

    I haven’t read a series that includes novellas. In fact, I’d never heard of it until about … oh… 30 seconds ago when I read this post.

    However, if I were really engaged in the series, I would always read the novellas. If it were character development, I would want to know what the author thought was important enough to write about. Also, it would be like a little secret club that only real fans belong to. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: This or That? #58 – Lolsys Library

  6. Pingback: September Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

