I’m not sure how much more of this I can handle.

I’m tired of turning on the news and seeing that an innocent life has been ended by someone who took an oath the serve and protect.

I’m tired of knowing that someone (even a child) can be murdered in cold blood, and on camera without justice being served.

I’m tired of repeatedly seeing the black community dehumanized and murdered on national television and all over the internet, and then seeing some overprivileged white person turn it into a fucking joke.

A student at a Christian university taking a Snapchat of Colin Kaepernick and calling him the n word.

A little girl wearing blackface, laughing with the caption “Black Lives Matter”

 

A white man saying that all black people should’ve been killed a long time ago to “get rid of the virus”

People all over the internet watching someone get shot and then saying “they should’ve done what they were told”

Watching a black person do what a police officer told them to do, still watching them die and then having someone say that somehow they still “deserved” it.

I have four little brothers and have to live with the constant fear that one day it could be one of them on the news or someone else that I love.

It’s after midnight, I’m sitting in my living room and I’ve already cried twice tonight, because my heart is heavy and I can’t fucking take it anymore. But I’m sure that tomorrow there will be someone else that takes this pain and turns it into a something to laugh about.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in #BlackLivesMatter. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. Part of me feels that clicking the ‘life’ button on this is wrong because I don’t like that you’re in pain, I don’t like that you’re fearful, I don’t like that people have to suffer like this. However, I ‘like’ this post to show you my support, Rae. I’m here for you and I respect your strength to speak up. I hope one day (soon) that we will be able to overcome these prejudices in our community when they have absolutely no basis for being there in the first place. My heart goes out to you. Please stay strong (as hard as it is.) 😥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m so sorry, Rae.

    Like

  3. Ariel Lynn says:

    I can’t speak to this experience, personally. All I know is that my friends & my community is hurting, & that hurts my heart. 😥

    *offers Internet hugs, if that’s OK*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: September Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

