How do you rate books?

Hi all,

So, I have a pretty clear idea in my head about how I currently rate books but I want some feedback on it.


1 star – These are books that I don’t finish because they’re just that bad. I’ve only ever DNF’d three books so I don’t give that rating often.

2 stars – Books that fall into this category are typically ones that I read and feel like were a complete waste of time. Most likely it’s because I hated the main characters or the plot just seemed totally useless or the story as a whole was just boring!

3 stars – These are books that I like. They were good but not great. Just mediocre. This is probably the rating that I give out most often.

4 stars – A book with this rating is really good… maybe even great, but not fantastic. Still it’s something that I would recommend to friends though

5 stars – I don’t give this rating often. A book has to totally wow me and be something that I really really love. Like Pride & Prejudice, it’s my favorite book and one of the few that I have given this rating.


So what do you think? How do you rate books? What rating do you give most often? Let me know!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Bookish Stuff, Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How do you rate books?

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Pretty similarly. 5 stars for me has to be a book I will read more than once. That I’m so captivated by it, that I know I’ll reread it … or I already have reread it. I figure that if it’s that good, it probably deserves five stars (or, at the very least, four). That being said … I don’t rate books very often, so usually when I am rating them, it’s because I actually really enjoyed it … and then I might rate other books at the same time, too. If that makes sense!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    I don’t rate books that I DNF.I don’t even review them so my ratings usually start from 3 stars. Those are the books that I got through but didn’t like much. 4 and 5 stars are the great reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! DNF is a whole separate section for the scale for me. 1-star just means it was garbage, but I forced myself through it. (though I don’t DNF books very often anyway). Truth be told, most of my reviews are 3-stars because frankly… most books are just ‘meh.’ They were good enough to pull me through, but not really good enough for much else. :/ A shame, but I’ve become a book critic since I started blogging and actively reading. What ya gonna do? *shrug*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    On Goodreads, I use their system (obviously!). This post reminds me that I need to include more info when I cross-post reviews on here; thank you for that!

    On my separate Word Doc where I keep the list of all the books I’ve read since 1996, I made up this rating system:
    +=Like
    ++=Very Good
    +++=Excellent
    -+=Bad
    -++=Very Bad
    -+++=The Worst
    ~=Okay

    I had to use the “-+” because there wasn’t a great variety of symbols available on Word way back when. “-+++” is used, very rarely, for DNF books (but I usually force myself to finish too). + & ++ are probably the most common, with ++ being a book I’d probably like to re-read or recommend to someone.

    It’s not great, but it works for me. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: September Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: Author Review | Beth Pattillo | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

