Rae’s Rules to Remember #49: Relationships Part 3

If you would like to read my first and second posts on this topic, click the respective links.

Today, I’m specially going to be talking about the topic of cheating. I have a very simple philosophy on cheating: Don’t do it.

Here’s one of my pet peeves: when someone’s significant other leaves them for someone else or cheats on them and they blame the other person. This is extremely important and I need people to understand this: Your significant other cannot be “stolen” from you, they make a choice to leave you or to cheat.

Not sorry, cause that is the truth. If you attack the other person but allow your significant other full immunity in the situation, then you are enabling them and telling them that their actions are okay.

Also, there is no such thing as “cheating respectfully” if you’re cheating on someone you’re already disrespecting them. And don’t try to tell the person that you cheated on that you love them because if you did, you wouldn’t have cheated.

Let’s talk about the Ross and Rachel “on a break” situation shall we?

I was team Rachel for that. While I sort of get what Ross was saying (although I don’t agree), on a break or not: if you sleep with someone else right after we break up then I am not going to believe you if you say you love me. That’s just me, but here’s how I look at it. They hadn’t been broken up for long (Right? Correct me if I’m wrong) and Ross went through all that trouble to show Rachel how much he cared and fucked it all up in a second. He even had the other woman in his apartment when she was there. How disrespectful is that? I mean, really. I personally also think that “taking a break” and “breaking up” could mean two different things if it’s not communicated properly.

Now, let’s talk about Usain Bolt. He cheated on his girlfriend in Rio, multiple times. Apparently she gave him a “27 woman pass” which I quite frankly think is bullshit. If you have to give your significant other a “pass” and more importantly if they are willing to accept a “pass” then you need to be with someone else. All that says to me is that you’re willing to cheat on me and I don’t need that in my life.

All of this of course is my personal opinion, but to be honest I do feel like a lot of this should be common sense. But again, that’s just me.

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #49: Relationships Part 3

  1. kristianw84 says:

    I completely agree! If you want to be “free to explore” fine, but don’t agree to a committed relationship! It’s just not fair to your partner!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I so agree!! And I love the Ross-and-Rachel explanation! I was so team Rachel, too. To me, it didn’t matter what Ross thought. It didn’t matter if he wasn’t sure if the break would last a few days, weeks, or forever. The point is, he immediately got into bed with someone else. Literally, a few hours later. If I was Rachel, I wouldn’t be able to forgive and I wouldn’t be able to believe it. Like … you love me, but while I was thinking of you, you were fucking someone else?

    Yeah, tell it to the next girl, buddy. (Plus, I really didn’t like Ross that much. I felt he was super jealous of Rachel. And he didn’t listen. She’d finally made something that could really be a career – she’d literally worked herself up and everything from being a waitress – and he wasn’t listening to the fact that she was busy. I get it was their first anniversary … but so? If Scott is busy working for our anniversary/or birthdays it happens. It’s life. There’ll be another one. Work is a damn good excuse. We kind of need work to pay for things. Plus, she was trying to be successful. She was fulfilling her dreams. We’re not talking about her turning it down because she was serving coffee in a job she hated.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. As soon as they broke up he slept with her. She was right to be pissed. I hate that the show ended with her giving up her job in Paris for him. He didn’t deserve it and if you love someone you don’t even think about asking them to give up their dream

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I agree. I felt Rachel’s character really grew, but Ross’ didn’t. And I kind of felt that he liked being “better” than her (like, smarter, having a better job, etc).

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: September Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

