This or That? #55

Hi Happy Monday. Happy Labor Day if you’re in the states.

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics let me know!


This week’s question is…

Would you ever join a book club? Why or why not?


If you’ve been in one in the past then your answer would technically be yes. However, if a former book club experience has made you change your mind about doing it again then please share if you are willing to.

I wouldn’t. I don’t want to have to read books based off of what other people choose. I like choosing books for myself. Some go off of best sellers lists and new releases but still I don’t think it’s for me.

Book clubs, from my understand, usually read about one book per month and I am definitely going to read more than. I don’t want to read the book club book and then read a bunch of other books and not remember what the chosen book was about.

The reason I started this blog was to talk about books with other people so that what I have you all for really!

If anyone has been in a book club I am interested in how it went, what you read, what was the structure so please do share!

What do you think? Would you (or have you) ever join a book club? Let me know?

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This or That? #55

  1. I’m completely with you, Rae. I’ve tried the book club thing in the past, but it’s never worked out that well for me. You’re absolutely right: the book clubs don’t usually focus around books that I find interesting, nor do they really read at a pace I find comfortable. Just let me do my own thing. (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I wouldn’t. I like to do my own thing. If we were all reading the same book and whatever, I’d get annoyed. Plus, I read fast. Really fast. If I have the time, I can finish almost any book of any size in a day (for real – but I do need the time). I wouldn’t be well-suited for a book club. Plus, I would most likely have read half the books that would come up during book club time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ariel Lynn says:

    I’m gonna vote no. The reason why is that, like you, I don’t want to limit my reading to whatever a group of people (who, very likely, don’t have the same tastes I do) wants to read, I don’t want to have to schedule reading a book so I remember in time for the next meeting/finish it in time for the next meeting, I don’t want to have to buy books that (chances are good) I don’t want to read or try to borrow a book from the library so I have it long enough without incurring fines, &, most importantly, I have enough books I want to read without anyone else giving their input. I have, literally, hundreds of books I want to read – probably closer to thousands.

    The only bit that I feel I’m missing out on is: not having someone, whose opinion I trust, with whom to talk & who could point out “Hey, did you notice this bit of symbolism/metaphor/gender, racial, identity, etc., commentary?” But, I can get that from research online & reading reviews after I finish a book if I really want it.

    Like

  4. Pingback: This or That? #55 – Lolsys Library

  5. Pingback: September Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #55 Book Clubs – paradisbooks

Leave a Reply

