Colin Kaepernick Controversy

If you don’t know who Colin Kaepernick is, he is the quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers who is under fire for sitting down during the national anthem.

First let me say that yes, I do support Black Lives Matter and yes, I do support law enforcement. I do not believe that innocent lives should be lost because of the color of their skin or the uniform that they wear. However, police officers DO take and oath to serve and protect and many of them have failed to fulfill that oath.

During a post game interview, Colin had this to say about why he didn’t stand during the anthem:

“I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of color. To me, this is bigger than football and it would be selfish on my part to look the other way. There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder.”

I agree with this. For example, the death of Freddie Gray was ruled a homicide. Yet, every single person involved in the case walked away with no charges pressed against them. Not even the officer who severed his spine. 

After this first incident, Kaepernick also came to practice with his afro picked out, which I am all for! There was also a practice where he wore socks with pigs in police uniforms. This, I do not support. Just as I believe that not all black people should be considered criminals for the actions of a few, I do not believe that all law enforcement officers should be held accountable for the mistakes or bad judgement calls of a few.

Somehow within all of the commotion, people started saying that he was being disrespectful to veterans. No, he wasn’t. He’s not wrong when he says that this country isn’t for everyone. We have video proof of that and still justice isn’t always served. He gave his reason for not standing during the anthem and it had nothing to do with war, or veterans but of course when people want to turn something into nothing, they grasp at straws. And because of that, people have started using the hashtag #VeteransforKaepernick. Another thing that I will support.

There was also a tweet from another NFL player who said that Kaepernick couldn’t be upset about how black people are treated because he is mixed and “doesn’t count.” Let me tell you what’s wrong with this. INTERSECTIONALITY. Just because someone is mixed doesn’t mean that they can’t be in touch with their multiple identities. Kaepernick is half white and half black. That doesn’t mean that he’s just a mixed kid it means he is both white and black. So yes he does count. But more importantly who the fuck do you think you are to try to tell someone who they are and how to feel? Get over yourself.

Of course, there’s a Tomi Lahren video about this going around somewhere but I’m not going to watch it because I can’t stand her and she completely misses the point in any situation that includes minorities. However I did find these!

14102823_1684498511873035_8503745295304635240_o

14117804_1192702774120471_6408575668202665386_n

14100330_1684229135233306_1729820023920157321_n

This last one here, says it all and these aren’t even all of the names that made major media coverage.

If you want to weigh in or have questions feel free to leave a comment but know that personal attacks and failure to listen to each other will not be tolerated.

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Discussion, Feminism. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Colin Kaepernick Controversy

  1. Kaepernick made his opinion known, that’s for sure. I agree that it’s wrong for anyone to dismiss his blackness because he is of mixed race. What pisses me off is that people are making a bigger deal about him not standing for the national anthem than they do when big-name athletes like Kobe Bryant and Ben Rothlesberger are accused of rape.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ariel Lynn says:

    Am I the only one who can’t see the images? All I see are big blank spaces & long sets of numbers. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • awe really? I’ll see if I can re-upload them

      Like

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I don’t want to inconvenience you. I’m sure I’ve seen a lot of the memes that are going around regarding this situation. No biggie!

        I heard about the “sock situation” too. That, & the fact that he didn’t make his statement before he sat through the anthem, is why my Dad says he takes offense to the situation. Unfortunately, I think he’s clutching at straws. He often has some thoughts about race that, quite frankly, upset me. This is just another one of ’em. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  3. fkregieblog says:

    balanced take on the issue. i like this “There was also a practice where he wore socks with pigs in police uniforms. This, I do not support. Just as I believe that not all black people should be considered criminals for the actions of a few, I do not believe that all law enforcement officers should be held accountable for the mistakes or bad judgement calls of a few.” the match that sets off the fire of hatred = essentialism/mockery.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Follow up on the Colin Kaepernick situation | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: Colin Kaepernick Part 3 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: September Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

