Rae’s Rules to Remember #44: Being an Ally Part 2

A few months ago I did a post about the importance of being an ally. You can check out that post here.

Recently I’ve noticed that there are people who have remained completely silent throughout the summer with everything that has been going on. And that’s fine. It’s totally optional to speak out.

However, I personally could not be best friends with someone and not talk about the issues that their community faces. If we are friends, I support you. I am here for you. When there is injustice in your community I am going to speak out because I care about you.

In reality, if you’re friends with someone then you should automatically be their ally. Right? I can’t, as a feminist, talk about the issues within my own community and ignore everything else happening in the world. Yet, there are some people who don’t talk about the issues and injustices that their closest friends face, but press others to care and become informed about the issues that they think are important. I could never justify supporting issues in a country that I’ve never been to, while ignoring the things that are happening right in front of me (even if my ancestors were from there).

I can’t hear about what happened in Orlando and not check in on my LGBTQIA and Latinx friends to see how they are handling the news. I even contacted my ex best friend of nine years. Someone that I really don’t care about anymore, but I couldn’t just pretend that she wasn’t ever a part of my life.

Tragedy is tragedy. There should be no discussion of which groups lives are more important than another’s.

Some of us just don’t have the luxury of not caring or tuning out. Even if we can, it doesn’t mean that we should.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rae’s Rules to Remember #44: Being an Ally Part 2

  1. Pingback: August Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

