This or That? #51

Hello!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics please let me know!


This week I want to know…

Do you (typically) read reviews of books before you read the book, after you read the book or not at all?


I will not read any reviews until after I’ve finished the book. It killed me to see all of the Cursed Child reviews popping while I was still waiting for mine!

I guess I just don’t want to have an preconceived notions in my head before reading. I also hate when people spoil things for me so just in case I wait until I’m done. I don’t even check Goodreads before reading a book honestly.

What about you? Let me know!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to This or That? #51

  1. Not at all! For some reasons, reviewers don’t seem to understand that we don’t want to know what happens in the book! Somehow they always manage to give away something they shouldn’t!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Evy says:

    I read reviews that bloggers I follow post, but before reading a book, I don’t try to find a review on the book specifically. I also try to give vague enough reviews that people don’t feel like I spoiled something for them.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. if i know nothing about the book, i will read reviews, but only spoiler-free ones. if its a book in a series im reading though, or an author i like, i try to stay away from them. i only write spoiler-free reviews because i know i hate accidentally reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LairOfBooks says:

    I typically try to stay away from reviews for books that I am highly anticipating. As much as reviewers say “no spoilers” it seems that everyone’s idea of a spoiler varies. I really don’t want to know if there is a plot twist since knowing will take the fun out of the surprise…I will be anxiously awaiting it smh. However, if it’s not a book I’m really looking forward to then I might peek at some trusted reviewers that I know for a fact will give the bare minimum 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. carlalouise89 says:

    I never read reviews, to be honest, full stop. I mean, there are exceptions, but that usually happens if I don’t plan to read said book. But usually I just read the blurb at the back of the book, and if it sounds interesting, I read it. I don’t usually even check the reviews after that; I only really care what I think. Maybe that’s rather vain, but I’m just not really interested. I like talking about books with other people though … so I guess, I like unofficial reviews (like when you post a review, and I read and comment if I’ve read the book). I like that. But I don’t care about what was said on Goodreads or by someone famous or whatever.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kendra says:

    Typically, no. I don’t usually read the reviews before I read the book. However, there have been many exceptions to this: while I’m reading It Ends With Us, I’ve seen and read a couple reviews. But it hasn’t changed my opinion. I read reviews for We Awaken by Calista Lynn before I read the book, and I still read it, without the reviews changing my opinions.

    However, most of the time, I usually skip over reviews until I have read the book and written my own. Then I will go back and read some reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Marquessa says:

    I don’t read reviews. The only review that matters is if I liked it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I do read reviews before reading a book! I want to know the mixed reviews, though I only read spoiler-free reviews 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hey Rae! I was wondering if maybe I could write a guest post for your blog? I was thinking about writing about how I don’t like it when someone says how “anyone can be a writer”. Let me know what you think! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ariel Lynn says:

    I don’t read reviews. I read book descriptions, which I know are self-serving, & then decide for myself whether or not I want to read it. I don’t read reviews when I’m done reading a book either…

    …but I write them! I use Goodreads.com to keep track of what I’m reading, how far I’ve progressed, etc. (this is in addition to my own list tracking what I’ve read since before the Internet was such a big stinking deal). Then, I write up a review using the notes I took on a Post-it while I was reading. I even had a small time author say nice things about my review of his book – which wasn’t 100% flattering, so I think it spoke highly of his willingness to accept constructive criticism. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also take notes while I read! Wow that’s really cool and that’s good that the author accepted the criticism instead of trying to tell you that you were wrong for not liking it! I love Goodreads. Whoever invented that website did a great job

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Do you write reviews too? 🙂

        I agree!! Goodreads is definitely one of my favorite sites. I like seeing what my friends read & what they think of stuff. Plus, I’m a total show-off know-it-all, & that part of my personality gets stoked by showing people what I’m reading. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      • I do write them, I post them here but not on Goodreads although I have considered it a few times. I agree it is cool to see what everyone’s up to! haha show it off, show it all off!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I like that a book’s reviews come up when you look a book up on Goodreads. Even though I don’t personally read them, I think they could help other readers with their choices. That’s my case to you that I think you might possibly maybe wanna consider posting reviews on the site. 😉

        I’d love to see what you’re up to on that site, if saying that isn’t too weird (even if it is weird, I said it; no going back!). I’m gonna leave a link here that I’m pretty sure is to my profile, although I may be wrong… I’ve never found someone not on my FB friend’s list/email list, & you can do with it what you will. There’s no pressure to add me or anything. I’ll still love reading your blog regardless. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will definitely consider it! And no that’s not weird lol. omg of course I’m going to add you, why wouldn’t I?!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I really can’t think of a reason why someone would find a request to add her to Goodreads is weird, but I didn’t want you to feel any pressure. I might be able to think up some reasons if I gave it more thought.

        Right now I’m checking out what books you want to read, though. LOL 😉

        Thanks for the add! I look forward to your reviews – on here, on Goodreads, wherever I can find them! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • lo no pressure at all. omg I have a typed list of books that I want to read and it’s 7 pages long. I just want to read ALL the books

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Don’t feel badly – I only have 52 “to read” books on my Goodreads, but I have a “to read” Word Doc list that’s literally 100 pages long (yes, I double-checked it to see how many pages it had). A lot of that is spacing, of course. But, it’s not a list I made personally; more a bunch of lists I stole from Harold Bloom, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, & the Guardian. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      • omg I thought I was bad haha so many books to read and so little time!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I know, right?! I love finding fellow reading fanatics. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: This or That? #51 – Lolsys Library

  12. Pingback: August Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

