Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

29056083

Description:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


~SPOILER ALERT~


So after a week of waiting for my copy of Cursed Child, it finally arrived yesterday. I had heard mixed reviews about it, but I have to admit that I absolutely loved it!

So, this might be a cohesive review, but more like rambling about everything that happened.

I was kind of surprised that Madam Hooch was still there but we never actually knew how old she was, so I guess not.

I love that Rose is a chaser! Even though Hermione knows nothing about Quidditch, I guess she got some of Ron’s talent.

I feel so bad for Scorpius. He’s already an outsider just for being a Malfoy, they really didn’t need to add those stupid Voldemort rumors, especially after losing his mom.

I like that Harry is Head of Magical Law Enforcement. I think it suits him.

I still dislike Amos Diggory. I know that Delphi was controlling him but to be honest, some of the things that he said weren’t too far off from his behavior in Goblet of Fire.

Albus Severus is….quite annoying and a bit of a pain in the ass. He whines about everything. I get that he feels a lot of pressure because he’s the son of Harry Potter and all but so what? He literally complains about being the son of the wizard who saved the world and then goes and tries to save the world. I mean, he does succeed but still. Climbing out of the Hogwarts Express was stupid. As the son of Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley, why are you so stupid?

Draco being pissed at Harry and claiming that all he wants is more fame was also stupid. You watched everything he went through; you know that’s not true. AND it’s not his fault that your parents joined the Death Eaters so don’t blame him.

I love that Hermione is Minister. It makes sense

Bane is still an asshole.

Harry blaming everything on Scorpius is stupid, especially since it was actually his son’s idea to jump off of the train. Also, why would you take away his only friend?

Okay, I really did enjoy the parallel words and stuff. It answered all of the “what if” questions that we have been asking since the beginning. I know that some people said that it felt like fan fic but I don’t think it’s a bad thing. I like that those alternative options were addressed.

So I totally hate the first alternative world. Ron and Padma? That’s terrible. And Ron clearly doesn’t even like his own kid lol. And of course there’s still a flame between him and Hermione. Although, I don’t know I feel about Hermione being Defense Against the Dark Arts professor. Also, Harry freaking out on Minerva like that was not okay. You just don’t talk to McGonagall like that.

In the one where Harry dies and Voldemort gains complete control…ugh. Of course Umbridge is headmistress, Draco is Head of Law Enforcement, and Scorpius is an asshole just like his father was. I can’t believe Cedric became a Death Eater! AND murdered Neville L. Of course Snape was alive and then sacrificed himself along with Ron and Hermione who only tell each other they love each other because they’re about to die. Ugh so sad.

As soon as they learned that Voldemort had a daughter I KNEW that it was Bellatrix. I said in my last review that her obsession and devotion to him was weird. I just don’t understand why, like yeah she was obsessed with him but…something about it just creeps me out. And what about her husband?

Overall I really did enjoy it. I also didn’t mind reading the script. I used to do plays and stuff when I was younger so it didn’t feel that different to me.

I love that they made a play. 5 out of 5.

Oh, and don’t think I didn’t notice that Scorpius says “Always” 😉

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Voldemort had sex with someone!? And had a child!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carla!? I gave a spoiler alert! Why’d you keep reading! lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Ha ha ha because I don’t want to read the play!!!! I wanted to read your review!

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re not gonna read it! and yes he someone managed to produce a child with Bellatrix of course. Still really weird though lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        So weird!! So he had a child with her, or she was his child!?
        Nah, I don’t like plays. I have to read too many as an English teacher. Actually, far more than novels, which is odd. But still. (I guess it’s senior English, and we do a lot of Shakespeare.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah Bellatrix had his daughter, her name was Delphi. But it’s weird because Bellatrix’s husband was the one who told her who her parents were. It also doesn’t really make sense now that I think of if because Molly kills Bellatrix so when could she have been pregnant. Unless they used the Time Turner (which plays a large role in the whole story) idk. I definitely understand how people could feel like its fan fic

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Yeah, that doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, either. Which is kind of why I wanted to shy away from it – J.K Rowling over saw it, but she apparently didn’t write it. While I’m all for fan fic, I don’t like the idea changing unless it’s part of Rowling’s plan. She’s always had a set plan, and that’s another reason why I wasn’t interested in the play. It needs to be part of a “separate” universe for me. I know that sounds weird … but I don’t know how else to explain it.

        Also, Voldemort having sex is how I imagine Sheldon having sex. It’s just unthinkable.

        Liked by 1 person

      • She didn’t put the play together but it was based off a story that she wrote about what happened after the battle. It was nice to see how Ron and Hermione were doing and how the world had changed. Fun fact: she almost put a grown up Dudley in the last scene with a child that was a witch/wizard. I’m convinced Voldemort isn’t capable of having sex so….. I’m still confused about that lol. Also it’s weird bc Bellatrix’s husband is the one who tells the kid that she’s Voldemort’s child…like, what?!

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Ha ha ha ha so am I! I don’t get it at all. Or like it. It’s too freaky!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice review. I agree, I hated the AU with Ron and Hermione not being married. And Scorpius is my new love, he’s just too cute.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: August Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

