Discussion: Audible

Hey friends!

So this past month while I was reading Harry Potter I decided to give audiobooks another go (this time using Audible instead of Spotify).

I listened to half of Sorcerer’s Stone, Prisoner of Azkaban, Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows through Audible and I have to admit that I did enjoy it!

So if you already have an Amazon account( or make one, it’s super quick) you get a 30-day free trial of Audible and with it comes 2 free credits for any book you want! Pretty cool right?

So I used my free trial on books one and three and then cancelled. And then my lovely mother allowed me to use her account to get the last two for free. Afterwards I canceled the subscription immediately.

Once the free trial is over, the monthly “Gold Member” subscription is about $15 a month and every month you get one free credit. To me,  the price of it isn’t worth it. When I was cancelling my mom’s subscription, I chose the reason that the subscription was too expensive. I was then offered a discounted price ($8) for the next three months (no free credits though). Then when I said that I wish to continue with the cancellation, I was then offered just $10 for a year, but again no free credits.

I personally do not think that $15 a month for one book is a good deal. Audiobooks (from the minimal browsing that I did) are much more expensive than the physical or electronic versions. That on top of a monthly subscription is a lot. For example, the Harry Potter audiobooks are $21 each plus the subscription. The thing is, as someone who reads often, I can buy books cheap at a local booksale ($2 tops) and online at thriftbooks.com for less than $4. I have acquired about 20 new books just over the summer and (aside from the full HP collection) probably didn’t spend more than $30.

While I do enjoy listening to books, I wouldn’t want to pay that much. What do you think? Any audiobook fans out there? What sources do you use and what would you recommend? Let me know!

~Rae

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Bookish Stuff, Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Discussion: Audible

  1. Lila says:

    i almost exclusively listen to audiobooks and i recommend getting them in e-audiobook format via your library!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I actually think that’s kind of despicable, because a lot of people who’d want audio books would be people learning to read or people who are blind … it feels kind of like they’re being discriminated against, and I’m not sure why. (I mean, obviously there are plenty of people that don’t fit that category, but as a teacher, we have audio books for that exact purpose.) It seems rather rude. And yes, as someone who frequents second hand book stores …. way too expensive!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have often enjoyed audio-books and I go to the Library to get as many as I can, they are great to have one just in the background.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    First off, I didn’t know about Thriftbooks.com. I’m gonna have to check that out (like I’m doing right now lol).

    Secondly, I’m somewhat of a stubborn purist. I like to copy quotations that I like from the books for future reference/inspiration, which I can’t do if I’m using an audio book. I mean, I’m not even fond of Kindle books, despite having a Kindle Fire & access to thousands of Kindle books (classics are free on many sites & I have a goal of reading through the Western Canon by Harold Bloom in my lifetime).

    Still, I do see the appeal of audio books. You can listen while you’re driving or doing other tasks where reading a paper book/Kindle would be impossible. My Aunt swears by them when she’s driving from Ohio, where she lives, to NJ, where her Mom lives. Perhaps I would use one – from the library – if I were to take a road trip. But $15 a month just to have access to the audio books, which you then have to buy, is ridiculous. If it were free, & then I paid for the books themselves, I would be more inclined to take Amazon up on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg! Let me know what you think of Triftbooks! I’m obsessed! Yeah audiobooks just aren’t for everyone and it does take away the some of the satisfaction of reading a hard copy. But I only use them to follow along with the book. I can’t just sit and listen. Agreed. the price just isn’t worth it

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I don’t have the shelf space to order anything from Thriftbooks at the moment, but I love what I’m seeing. There are tons of books I wanna read on there for less than $5. I’m just not sure if I have them already since I can’t see my book titles the way I have them stacked at the moment. So I would have to check them all before I ordered anything anyways! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Marquessa says:

    I’ve done Audible a number of times but only at times when I’m busy and don’t have the time to read and prefer to listen as I’m doing other things. Yes, it’s a bit expensive. I’m now listening to a lot of NPR and Ted Talk Radio instead when I’m at work. I’ll need to look at Thriftbooks!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: August Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

