Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

1


Description:

It is the middle of the summer, but there is an unseasonal mist pressing against the windowpanes. Harry Potter is waiting nervously in his bedroom at the Dursleys’ house in Privet Drive for a visit from Professor Dumbledore himself. One of the last times he saw the Headmaster was in a fierce one-to-one duel with Lord Voldemort, and Harry can’t quite believe that Professor Dumbledore will actually appear at the Dursleys’ of all places. Why is the Professor coming to visit him now? What is it that cannot wait until Harry returns to Hogwarts in a few weeks’ time? Harry’s sixth year at Hogwarts has already got off to an unusual start, as the worlds of Muggle and magic start to intertwine…

J.K. Rowling charts Harry Potter’s latest adventures in his sixth year at Hogwarts with consummate skill and in breathtaking fashion.


Book Review:

I like that this one did not start out with Harry. That’s not actually an important detail but I like the change. The scene with the Unbreakable Vow was a good one to have in the beginning because we always don’t get information before Harry does.

Anyway, I still don’t like Fleur. She’s so annoying and she complains about everything. I mean I’m glad she and Molly still end up liking each other in the end but if I were Ginny, I would have hated her too.

In the scene where they see the Malfoys in Diagon Alley, I think that Narcissa could have handled herself better. I get that Draco is her only son so she wants to stick up for him and all but 1. She’s an adult 2. Even though he’s the reason her husband is in jail, Harry is still a child. A grown woman should not be threatening a child 3. Draco is the one that’s always started the shit between himself and Harry and 4. She’s making references to Voldemort when she doesn’t even want her family involved with the Death Eaters. There really wasn’t any real need to put up that ridiculous front, and it was stupid.

I really like the relationship that Ginny has with the twins (Fred mostly). It’s really cute. She’s so much like the two of them more than anyone else, and I love it. At this point I’ve accepted the fact that Harry and Ginny end up together, I’m just not sure how I feel about it. I get that Ginny likes hims even though it was weird in the beginning because she was terrified of him or whatever. But I feel like Harry didn’t start liking her until 1. After the disastrous “relationship” he had with Cho and 2. Her though that Ginny didn’t like him anymore and 3. He saw her with someone else. Ginny explains that she was never really over Harry but I feel like Harry’s so called “feelings” for her just don’t make sense.

So of course Harry was right about Draco being a Death Eater. Everyone kept saying that Voldemort wouldn’t allow a 16 year old to join and I really don’t understand how people came to that logic. I mean, he tried to murder a baby. And it wasn’t about “allowing” him  to join, Draco was forced. It’s been obvious forever that this man doesn’t have a heart so why are people still denying that?

Seriously Ron can not get any worse at this point. Oh wait, he does. He seriously needs to get his shit together. Hermione already told him that if he has something to say then he needs to say it but does that happen…no. Hermione doesn’t even know that he knows about her and Viktor but he takes it out on her anyway instead admitting that he has feelings for her. What does he expect when he constantly treats her like crap and has no regard for her feelings. Sure, they’re teenagers, but being young does not give you exemption from having common sense. And Ginny is right, he’s a huge hypocrite for getting mad at Ginny when he and Lavender are all over each other 24/7. And where the hell did her feelings for him even come from? You’ve been in the same house for 6 years and she just noticed him?

Peeves is such an unnecessary character. He literally contributes nothing but annoyance and I feel like he’s completely irrelevant.

It was interesting to finally learn about the Horcruxes and their journey to find one even though it had already been found.

If I hadn’t already read this series once, I would hate Snape. But I can’t because I know that he did the right thing and that he’s not a bad person. Dumbledore’s death was rough though. Not the part where he actually dies, but when everyone else finds out and Fawkes is singing. So sad. I haven’t cried while reading in a while but this one definitely got me. The funeral scene was nice. I like that even though they are assholes and hate humans, that the centaurs sent arrows for him. I’m so not ready for everyone to die in the next book but I guess I should read it in preparation for Cursed Child.

5 out of 5


Movie Review:

There were more differences in this movie than any other so far. A lot of small details but also pretty significant ones. Like entire scenes added. It wasn’t a bad movie but really was not true to the book. A lot of things missing, a lot of things changed but I guess that is to be expected.

Some of the changes though I did enjoy. There was a good bit of added humor that I appreciated. For example, Ron saying that Dumbledore is probably 150 give or take a few years, or the Umbridge doll in Fred and George’s store.

The movies definitely play up the relationships a lot more than the books. In a way I suppose that it’s a good thing that Ginny plays a much bigger role in this one since we all know that she ends up with Harry so I guess I can see why they did it.

The girl who plays Lavender is fantastic at being a really annoying character, she did well lol.

Towards the end it started to get better. When they go to get the Horcrux and the Death Eater scene and all. Kind of disappointed that they didn’t include at least a glimpse at Dumbledore’s tomb but whatever.

Also, Daniel Radcliffe’s portrayal of Harry was really comical and I liked that. His reactions to Ron and Lavender and how he acts after he takes the lucky potion is really good!

4 out 5 simply because despite the discrepancies, it was amusing


Finally to the end!

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  1. Pingback: Series Review: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling | bookmarkchronicles

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

