Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

17347381


Description:

Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.


~SPOILER ALERT~


Book Review:

The first time that I read this I kind of hated it. I thought it was really boring and found it ironic that the most boring of the series was also the longest.

This time around I can say that is no longer my least favorite. I liked it better than Chamber of Secrets at least, even though a lot of it made annoyed, irritated, or pissed off.

Like in the beginning, Harry saves Dudley’s life but his uncle fails to see that. Knowing that a murderer (the same person who killed his parents in fact) is after him and still he tried to kick him out. Really? He’s fifteen. That’s ridiculous

Harry himself was also annoying in this one. Sure Dumbledore could have confided in him sooner but there was no need for him to be a little bitch baby about everything. He took all of his anger out on Ron and Hermione even when they didn’t know anything and his jealousy over them being prefects was stupid too. Seriously, they’re his best friends, he should just be happy for them and let it go like a god friend would instead of making everything about him. He needs to learn not to be angry at the people who are constantly helping him and oh I don’t know….risking their lives for him. So ungrateful. I get it, he felt out of the loop and he was miserable but through this entire book he’s such a jackass. Even at the end when Dumbledore is giving him all of the answers that he’s always wanted he’s not even listening and keeps flying off the handle. It’s really annoying.

I did disagree with Molly wanting to  keep a lot of what the Order was up to away from Harry. I get that he is still young but he’s already faced Voldemort four times in his life, Voldemort murdered his parents, and he knows that he wants to murder him as well. I don’t really feel that hiding things from him could have benefited him considering what he’s already been through. Of course, it’s her motherly instinct that makes her want to shield him, but he’s already been through so much. Some could use that very reason to say that he doesn’t need to know more but he’s gonna find out anyway, especially with another war that’s inevitable.

When Molly said that she would handle the boggart, I knew exactly what would happen. Why didn’t she just let Moody do it??

I forgot that Kreacher was such an asshole lol

When they finally get to school and Harry ends up in detention I would have loved to have seen McGonagall flip on Umbridge for what her detentions included. I also forgot how much I hated Umbridge. I remembered hating her the first time around but I think that hatred is actually tenfold. I wanted McGonagall to take her on so badly.

I absolutely adore Tonks, I’m so sad she’s going to die.

Percy is completely unbearable and a gloating idiot.

Seamus is also an idiot and completely stupid. You can’t just turn your back on someone because of something that you don’t want to believe in after being friends with him for 4 years.

I thought I liked Angelina but I’m not so sure anymore. She was a bitch about the detention thing. She shouldn’t yell at Harry for missing practices because he told the truth. I just feel like, as captain of the team and a member of the D.A. she could have handled that much better.

I also could’ve done without Lockhart reappearing. Still not a fan.

Cho…. I don’t like her. She’s kind of an idiot really. The entire school knows that Harry and Hermione are best friends, so for her to get upset about him meeting her even though he asked her to come along was really stupid. And then was she got upset about him talking about Hermione which was hypocritical considering she kept mentioning things she did with Cedric. I get that she thought he would understand because he saw him die, but if he can’t mention his best friend, don’t mention your ex-boyfriend.

I didn’t remember the centaurs beings such assholes. Like, they twist everything to make it an insult toward them when the only person who actually insulted them was Umbridge. I can get why they would be upset with Firenze but that’s not a good enough reason to try to kill him.

Bellatrix. Wow I hate this woman. And I’ve mentioned this before but it’s so ironic that she’s screaming about Harry being a half-blood when he’s actually got more wizard blood than Voldemort. That makes absolutely no sense.

I love Neville. He’s already so different from the first book. He’s so brave and determined, it’s amazing. And of course we finally learn about the parallel between him and Harry and it makes so much sense for how he’s developed as a character.

I’m starting to like Ginny more. Not that I didn’t like her but I felt that her character was a little misplaced. I like the connection she has with the twins and I think that she has been fiercely underestimated so far.

Oh Sirius. As reckless and stupid as he could sometimes be getting to the end of the chapter where he dies was rough.I mean all the feels. And then Harry opens the mirror from him too late. Ugh just rip our hearts out Rowling.

Overall, much better the second time around. 4 out of 5. I also read this for the first time when I was in third grade so that probably has something to do with it lol


Movie Review:

As always I noticed small details that most people would consider insignificant and was very disappointed at some of the things that were left out. For example they skipped the part where Petunia get’s her letter! I think they could have slipped that in, I also think it is important to the story.

Another thing is that Harry and Arthur weren’t supposed to see Lucius with the minister until after his hearing. Insignificant, but just an observation.

Dobby isn’t even mentioned in the movie. Padma is replacing Lavender and there was no mention of Sirius being related to the Malfoys which I thought could have been included in the family tree scene honestly.

I didn’t really start enjoying the movie until they reached the Department of Mysteries. Obviously they cut out the part with them trying all of the doors to find the one in Harry’s dream but that was expected and understandable. I love the entrances of the Order members, I thought that it was very nicely done. Dramatic? Sure, but I love it! And I love that they had Harry and Sirius fight side by side and Sirius calls Harry James.

And then Bellatrix kills Sirius….all the feels man, all of them.

I did not like that when Harry chased after Bellatrix, they had him attempt the Cruciatus Curse. That wasn’t necessary nor was the scene with everyone watching Harry become possessed by Voldemort.

The fight between Voldemort and Dumbledore was slightly over dramatic but I do think that that was kind of important.

Overall I really wasn’t impressed with this movie unfortunately so I think this is probably my least favorite movie 2.75 out of 5 stars


 Finally starting Half-Blood Prince. I’m a little behind so I’ve gotta get moving!

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

  1. Ariel Lynn says:

    The way you’re describing the issues you had with Harry & Cho, their irrationality, emotional overreactions, & their being, well, jerks, made me think: “They sound like teenagers.” But perhaps that’s just my reading of your take on the book. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Series Review: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling | bookmarkchronicles

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

