This or That? #49

Hey friends! Happy Monday 🙂

n case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics please let me know!


This week I want to know….

Have you ever enjoyed a movie adaptation better than the book itself?


I actually have. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks was a good book, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. But the movie is a 5 for me. At first I wasn’t sure if I like the movie better because I had seen it repeatedly for years before I finally read the book and got used to it or if I actually just like the movie more. I’m thinking the latter though. Like all movies there are somethings that are left out but they weren’t necessary for the story as a whole. I also really enjoyed the casting of the movie. All of the actors fell into place perfectly for me. And this movie is my all time favorite.

What about you? Any movies that exceed your expectations? Let me know!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to This or That? #49

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Yes! On three very rare occasions. Pride and Prejudice; I love the Keira Knightley version, which I know was extremely unpopular, but I felt like it cut out all the fluff. I liked it, and I liked the chemistry between all the characters.
    Bridget Jones’ Diary: I felt the book was awful. I’m pretty sure I finished, but I struggled, and it was a long time ago. I hated Bridget in the novel; I thought she was stupid and pathetic. In the movie, I felt they made her really likable.
    And The Book Thief: I loved the movie version so much more. I thought it was so well adapted. I really enjoyed it.
    And … maybe just for extras … The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I found the book hard to read; the movie was great, though.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OMG I forgot about P&P I love it! It’s my second favorite movie! I haven’t read and therefore haven’t watched the book thief yet. I did not like Perks in any way but I so appreciated your warning

      Like

  2. Yep! One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is an example! I like the book too, but the movie’s great! There’s a lot of others too, but I can’t think of them at the moment.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kendra says:

    Haha, I’m going to steal yours! Yes, some movies are better than the books. I actually did think that A Walk To Remember, the movie, was better than the book! Oooh, Matilda is another one. My mom used to tell me that when I was younger, I looked like Matilda when she was (I think) 6-8. In that scene when she’s pulling the wagon of books: she goes from one age, to another, and finally another. We looked similar at that middle age. And no, we don’t really look alike now. Lol It’s funny. It’s one of my favorite movies!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ariel Lynn says:

    “Shawshank Redemption,” for sure!! I thought the movie was absolutely fantastic. I liked the short story the movie was based on, of course, but what they created out of such a brief writing was jaw-dropping! I loved both, but the movie was tops in that comparison. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: July Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  6. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #49 Movie Adaptations – paradisbooks

Leave a Reply

