Harry Potter Month: Day 7

Day 7: Favorite Female Character and why?

I would consider it cheating if I said Hermione because she’s the main female character. But she is probably my favorite because, like me (and most of us) she’s a reader. I also love strong female characters and I don’t really feel like there are that many (at least not as many as there should be).

Aside from her though, I love Professor McGonagall. I’ve always liked her and I love the actress that plays her in the movies. I don’t really know what it is about her but I would have loved to have a professor like her!

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Blog Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Harry Potter Month: Day 7

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I agree with you on both accounts! I loved Hermione. I loved how quickly her character developed – even in the first novel, she changed dramatically. She was the only one of the trio I didn’t hate at some point or another (I pretty much hated Ron from the third novel on, and that fury just grew; and I thought Harry was a right twat in number five. I mean, I could get some of his behaviour, but a lot of it was just pig-headed and stupid when it didn’t need to be, and he kept taking everything out on Hermione and Ron). But Hermione … she was always awesome. While Harry took Ron’s side in the third novel, Hermione never took anyone’s side whenever there was fighting. She was loyal and just. She stood up for what she believed in, and didn’t take anything from anyone.

    McGonagall was definitely my second favourite. I loved her background story, too. It made me so sad to find out she’d fallen in love with a Scottish man, and had been engaged to him for only a few hours, before breaking it off because she didn’t want to violate the rules of Magical Secrecy (she worked for the Ministry before becoming a teacher – her decision to end her relationship with a Muggle resulted in her changing professions, in case you didn’t know. I told you, I’m obsessed). I thought she was a great teacher, and an incredibly fair one. She was tough, but she was fair, to all the students.

    If I had to pick a third favourite, I’d pick Lily Potter. I know she’s not a real character, but her devotion to her family was extreme. Despite Petunia’s cruelty, she always seemed to try and stand by her, try and fix their relationship. And, more importantly, her sacrifice saved Harry’s life. What I don’t understand is how she’s the only one, ever, to make such a sacrifice. I guess not a lot of people go around murdering people and giving others a chance to live, but still, I find it so hard to fathom Harry’s the only one who survived that curse, which to me makes Lily extraordinary, even though she’s barely there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma The Book Lover says:

    I enjoy readin these posts everyday ! My favourite would probably be Hermione ahaha, I just love her ! But I do like Lune and Ginny too !!

    Like

  3. Actually, I’m pretty sure it’s cheating to say McGonagall, too. :p But that’s okay because I’m picking the villain! Bellatrix Lestrange is my favorite female of the series because she’s absolutely crazy! And what can I say? I love a little evil. :p (or a lot)

    Like

  4. My favourite is actually Luna Lovegood, she reminds me of me,lol…Definitely reminds me of me a lot more than Hermione. I really like Hermione, but Luna’s my favourite =D

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LorevaRaven says:

    So true! McGonagall is so fierce, death itself would be afraid of her. She is so badass and plus she is one of the best teachers ever, real or fictional! The overall personality is 💯💯

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

