Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

3

Description:

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.


~SPOILER ALERT~


Book Review:

The first time that I read this book I was in the second grade. That was literally forever ago…well like 13-14 years but still!

Wow I forgot how much I hated the Dursleys. As far as Dudley goes, I’m not a fan of spoiled ingrates or the fact that at 10-11 years old he still throws temper tantrums. And then his father Vernon is no better. He literally tells Harry, an eleven year old orphan, that the world is better off without his parents and they they got what they deserved. Petunia is just a bitch. Her sister is dead and she shows no remorse and lets her family treat her nephew like shit. It’s riduculous.

I think that Harry’s character is very believable. He’s had a miserable life and then all of a sudden it’s flipped upside down and his response to it is exactly what it should be. He’s trying to figure out how to be on his own for the first time and fit into this new world that he had no idea that he was even a part of. He’s humble, he recognizes right from wrong and is grateful to the people who help him along the way.

At this point I don’t particularly have feelings toward Ron. I like that he’s witty but that’s about it.

I know that I will end up loving her again when I get further into the series but damn Hermione is annoying!!! I didn’t remember hating her so much my goodness.

Draco of course is a complete asshole for no reason. He’s literally the kind of person that I hate in real life.

Hagrid is loveable.

Dumbledore is a bit mysterious still at this point so no real comments there.

Snape seems like a complete jerk until you find out that he saved Harry from Professor Quirrell. And I already know that I will love him in the end so I already biased. I remember reading the first time and thinking that he was such an asshole.

That’s about it for the characters really. I FORGOT THAT THERE WERE CENTAURS AND UNICORNS!!! Greatest thing ever, although it’s sad that the unicorns are dead thanks to Voldemort. Nothing to say about him cause he’s not even a person yet lol. I have to say that I really loved getting to rediscover all of the things that I read the first time. And there’s so much foreshadowing its crazy.

Anyway, definitely a 5 out of 5. (But I am already totally biased) 🙂


Movie Review:

I learned long ago that movie adaptations are hardly ever up to par. In my opinion only about 5% of books turned movie turn out to be good. I will admit that I did not mind this adaptation too much though.

Obviously there had to be some changes for visual adaptation and there were some that I liked. For example, the owls gathering outside of Harry’s house. And I liked that they have Snape wish Harry luck before his game. They did condense two of the Quidditch matches into one, but since the movie is already two and a half hours long I guess that makes sense.

I also noticed that Quirrell didn’t shake Harry’s hand in the beginning. If I’m remembering correctly, he does in the book yes? Also little things like Neville doesn’t get caught with Harry and Hermione, instead it’s Ron who therefore ends up in detention with them. They also cut out the rest of the centaurs aside from Firenze.

Overall, I think I enjoyed the movie as a whole. The cast all look like babies in this one haha!

I would give it 4 out of 5.


You know what comes next! Hopefully I can finish this one with less distractions.

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book + Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

  1. Pingback: Series Review: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling | bookmarkchronicles

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

