This or That? #45

Hello, Happy Monday!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions or would like to write a guest post about any of the This or That? topics please let me know!


Many of you probably won’t enjoy this question very much but…..which is worse:

Having some of the middle chapters of a novel missing

OR

Missing the first and last chapters


I think I would have to let the middle chapters go. I feel like I need the first and last chapters to know how the entire story is set up and brought together. And some books have really good last lines or your find out an important piece of information right as the novel ends. No way I want to miss that. Sometimes the middle chapters could just be filler information so it isn’t guaranteed that they will be super important. Also, the turning point of a story doesn’t always happen directly in the middle of the book so it’s possible that I won’t miss anything of importance.

What about you? Which of these would you be more likely to embrace? Let me know!

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This or That? #45

  1. oh gosh, both of these options are horrible! I think I’d have to agree with you though and go with the middle chapters!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m so with you. It has to be the middle – even if I could miss the beginning, I couldn’t handle not knowing the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you! The first and last chapters are so important that they can’t go missing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kendra says:

    You’re right; I don’t enjoy this question 😛 So tough! I would have to say miss a couple chapters in the middle. While I don’t like missing any part of a book (or movie), I feel like the beginning totally sets up the whole thing. It brings the question as to why something is happening. I cannot live without the end because I would have to know what happens. It reminds me of one of your other questions: about having the end spoiled or never knowing. I HAVE TO KNOW. There is no way around that! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: This or That #45 – Lolsys Library

  6. Pingback: This Or That Thursday: Challenge #45 Missing Chapters | apieceofparadis

  7. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  8. Pingback: This Or That Thursday: Challenge #45 Missing Chapters – paradisbooks

Leave a Reply

