Rae’s Rules to Remember #35: How to have a conversation online

Hi friends,

So lately I’ve been finding myself in disagreements with people. This isn’t a bad thing. However, when you’re talking to someone online there are important things to take into consideration.

For example, there is no tone of voice to help you understand if someone is being sarcastic or serious so choose your words carefully.

Also, don’t be one of those people that starts an argument for no reason. Nobody has time for that bullshit. It’s simple to share differing opinions and not be disrespectful, childish, and insulting. I highly encourage differences in opinion because it provides perspective but don’t start to attack me personally just because I disagree with you. For more on that, check out my previous post I respectfully disagree. The other day, I had a wonderful conversation with someone about an author that I did not like. The person that I talked to was a fan of the author and though we disagreed we respected each others’ opinions and each learned a different point of view. I loved that. That’s how conversations are meant to happen.

On the other hand, I have also had people completely derail a conversation by calling me names because I tore apart their argument on a serious issue and they couldn’t think of anything else to say. Seriously? Just admit defeat and move on. Also, if you think that someone is saying something that is unfair, there is a certain way to address it. For example, I wrote a post about something that was important to me. Something social justice related. Two people misinterpreted what I said and instead of asking for clarification said that I was being “unfair.” The problem is, I wasn’t unfair at all. They took my words out of context and tried to say that I was saying something completely different. If I read something that someone says that I don’t agree with, I will either say “I’m not sure I understand what you mean” or “I may have to disagree with you on that.” It’s really not that hard to have a serious discussion without being an asshole.

Try to remember that before leaving comments.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #35: How to have a conversation online

  1. thegirlfromwonderland says:

    It all comes down to respect I think. People need to understand that not everyone would share their opinion, and that’s okay. Life would be pretth boring if everyone shares the same likes and dislikes. Those

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thegirlfromwonderland says:

    Those people definitely need to get their shit together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Exactly, just because I disagree with you doesn’t mean I’m going to be disrespectful. I like hearing other people’s opinions because sometimes they point out things that I missed but calling me names is unecessary

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a fabulous post and I wish everyone would read it!! One thing I have to add is that in the last few days there’s been a lot going on in my country and I’ve found I’ve chosen to shy away from debate online- which is *really* unlike me. The main reason for this is that sooo many people frame the “debate” with calling people names, insulting huge groups of people and claiming outrageous things. I really think that what you said about not resorting to name calling is very important- even if the debate has not begun yet. It just pays to be nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Josh Wrenn says:

    I respectfully disagree with this post. Just kidding. Well said!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. carlalouise89 says:

    YES! So brilliant! I wish more people got this message!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My experience is that people who are genuinely interested in what I have to say will ask me to clarify or will allow me to clarify. There is a contingent of on social media that see all interactions as a win or lose game. When it comes to discussing social justice my motto is that name calling, scandal mongering and smear campaigns are not policy or solutions. As soon as a conversation
    devolves into personal attacks I leave it. I don’t have the time or inclination to feed someone’s irrational need to win one of the many meaningless games people play on social media.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  8. Pingback: Rae’s Rules to Remember #35: How to have a conversation online | myzania

Leave a Reply

