Rae’s Rules to Remember #34: Relationships Part 2

If you missed my first post on relationships. Here ya go

Scrolling through Twitter and someone is ranting about how women are “crazy” for romancing men that they’re dating. So of course my first statement is “why cant both people do it?”

She says that’s fine if they’re in a relationship but during the dating phase the men should be making the plans, driving,  and paying because otherwise it’s “backwards.” To which I replied that that was reinforcing gender stereotypes and that I personally feel really uncomfortable when people pay for me all the time. She then said that it was how she viewed it in her dating life. I then pointed our that she then couldn’t criticize other people for having a different view on it if that was her defense.

Basically what I’m getting at here is that I am not really a fan of gender stereotypes in dating. If I’m the one that asks a guy out and propose we do something that’s my idea, I’m probably gonna plan to pay for it ya know? Enforcing those stereotypes also completely doesn’t consider LGBTQIA+ couples which (in case you haven’t noticed) need to stop being ignored.

She also said that she knows guys that can cook and clean but she feels like it “her job.” This, I could not deal with. Just because I’m woman does not mean that I will cook and clean for you all the time. I believe in balance in relationships and the fact that everything in the relationship should be split equally. If you believe in those things cool, it’s not a bad thing. I love to cook but I hate to clean but I will still do both of those equally with my significant other. I get that it was her personal opinion on things but I also feel that she was very closed minded about the situation as a whole. But like I said, how you see things is how you see things and that’s fine. I was trying to add a little perspective and defend those that weren’t there to do it themselves but I guess it didn’t work lol.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #34: Relationships Part 2

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Yup. Just so many yeses!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 100% have no problem with my partner cooking, he is SO good at it,lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  4. Pingback: Rae’s Rules to Remember #47: Dating Double Standards | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: Rae’s Rules to Remember #49: Relationships Part 3 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

