Guest Post by B.G @ Getting Through Anxiety

Hi friends! As most of you know I host a weekly meme called This or That? where I pose a question every Monday asking booklovers to choose between two scenarios and then I share the results on Friday. Today I have a guest post from B.G. @ Getting Through Anxiety who was kind enough let me share her view on the question posed in This or That? #4!

If you are unfamiliar with B.G.’s blog then you should definitely click the link and give her a follow! She shares her experiences dealing with anxiety and gives really great advice for anyone who may be going through the same thing. She’s also super creative and invents fun tags and monthly blog challenges!


Tangible Books in All Their Glory

               iPads, Kindles, Nooks. All of these pieces of technology have a major thing in common: you can read on them. All of these pieces of technology are marketed as a way to save the customer the burden of carrying a heavy book and to have peace of mind that they are saving trees. However, while many people prefer reading on these different forms of E-books, there are still some individuals, like myself, who would rather read books with a real cover and with real pages.

I grew up reading. I read books like the Cam Jansen Mystery series, A Series of Unfortunate Events, and Harry Potter. I enjoyed going to bookstores and buying books, flipping through the pages and even, sometimes, carrying those books on vacation. I didn’t mind the bulk and I never once thought to myself, “I wish these books weren’t so heavy!”

Not that it matters, but I’m still young. I’m not going to say my exact age, but I will say that I’m between 20 and 35. My point? My point is that even though I’m young, I still prefer tangible books over E-books.

I don’t like reading on a screen. Not only is the process of reading this way impersonal, but quite frankly, it’s boring. Instead of the nice feeling of running your hands over the pages as you turn to read the next exciting part of the story, you swipe your finger across a cold surface. I’m sorry, but I just feel like this rips the joy from the pages. Of course, even if you wanted to, you couldn’t rip out the pages could you? After all, there are no real pages to speak of!

I’m not going to lie, I own a Nook and I used to use it for reading at times. I also used my dad’s iPad to read books in college that I didn’t want to buy. I found that when reading a book I didn’t really care about, reading on an iPad was fine. However, when I want to read for my own pleasure, I don’t want to do so on a piece of technology. I want to read an actual book. To me, reading is about being able to hold a book comfortably in your hands without feeling the rough edges of an electronic device. Getting lost in a book isn’t just about the words on the page, but also about you being able to be as relaxed as possible.

In addition to reading, I love watching shows. Before I had Netflix, I watched a lot of TV shows and movies on the actual television, but now I find myself watching stuff on my laptop or my dad’s iPad (I no longer use my Nook since it stopped working well). Now don’t get me wrong, I love being able to watch stuff on my laptop and the iPad, but I also love that when it comes to reading, I can take a break from all of the screens that I’m always sticking in front of my face.

Speaking of my Nook, I got my first one as a birthday present. However, it didn’t work well at all. In the end, I ended up having to exchange a total of two Nooks before I found one that actually worked. Now to be honest, I mainly wanted a Nook for the internet (this was before I had my iPhone). However, I did read on my Nook. My point is that you don’t have to exchange books because they don’t work or because they malfunction down the road. The only real reason you’d have to exchange or return a book is if you really don’t like it and the process of doing so is a lot simpler than sending back a piece of technology.

So yes, maybe to some people, reading E-books make more sense. Maybe for people who travel a lot, they prefer to bring one device with tons of books downloaded onto it instead of having to pack tons of paperbacks or hard copies into suitcases. However, I would much rather lie down and relax with a hardcopy of a book than slide my finger along a cold screen. I would rather not have to worry about keeping my device charged so that I can continue reading or make sure that my book doesn’t somehow break. To me, reading is all about the entire experience: the smell and feel of the pages, the texture of the cover and binding, and the ability to fall into the magical world of writing. So, to each their own, but I prefer to read a tangible book instead of one that could disappear at any time due to a technological malfunction.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Guest Post by B.G @ Getting Through Anxiety

  1. Thanks for sharing this, Rae!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Getting Through Anxiety and commented:
    Rae was kind enough to post something I wrote! Please check out her wonderful blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. carlalouise89 says:

    Great post!!! I agree – I prefer books 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Want to Write a Guest Post? | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

