Book + Movie Review: The Tenth Circle

If you’ve been following me for a while now, then you know that I love Jodi Picoult. She covers so many important issues in last than 400 pages, its amazing. This book was lent to me by a mentor and it’s been so long since I’ve something by her (I think the last one was The Pact).

 The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

10909


Description:

Fourteen-year-old Trixie Stone is in love for the first time. She’s also the light of her father, Daniel’s life — a straight-A student; a pretty, popular freshman in high school; a girl who’s always seen her father as a hero. That is, until her world is turned upside down with a single act of violence. Suddenly everything Trixie has believed about her family — and herself — seems to be a lie. Could the boyfriend who once made Trixie wild with happiness have been the one to end her childhood forever? She says that he is, and that is all it takes to make Daniel, a seemingly mild-mannered comic book artist with a secret tumultuous past he has hidden even from his family, venture to hell and back to protect his daughter.

With The Tenth Circle, Jodi Picoult offers her most powerful chronicle yet as she explores the unbreakable bond between parent and child, and questions whether you can reinvent yourself in the course of a lifetime — or if your mistakes are carried forever.


~SPOILER ALERT~.


*TRIGGER WARNING*

The review of this book will include discussion of rape, sexual assault, bullying, and suicide


Aside from the things that I mentioned above, this book also talks about peer pressure, adultery, being an outsider and so many important things.

Anyway, let’s get into the story here shall we? First of all, THERE IS A COMIC BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK. I don’t read comic books but omg it was so good and every section of the comic book was related to what was going on in the chapter before it. It was pretty cool. She also hid a message inside the comic like when Daniel left a message for Laura in his drawing!

One thing that I didn’t really like was the fact that Trixie and Jason had only been dating for three months and she thought that she was in love. I get that this happens to young girls (and boys, but girls especially) because we are taught that falling in love is one of the greatest things that will ever happen to us, and that’s such bullshit. I believe in love but not at 14. Is it possible that you could marry your first and only boyfriend/girlfriend, yes. Is it possible that the first significant other that you have is “the one, ” yes. BUT how often does that happen really? We are so used to being told that out “prince” will come and sweep us away into “Happily Ever After” and I hate it because that is not always true. And a relationship that lasted 3 months? That’s such a small amount of time. Nothing compared to a lifetime.

Anyway another thing that bothered me (but is a very real issue among young people) is that Trixie is a cutter. She cuts herself believing that the pain she inflicts on herself by slicing her arm helps to relieve the pain of everything happening around her. It’s sad and so incredibly dangerous. Trixie even tries to commit suicide after Moss leaks a half naked photo of her. She was already being bullied for being a victim and then this happens and it drives her over the edge. She’s 14 and someone else’s bad decision is making her believe that she no longer has a reason to live.

Even though I dislike how some of these topics are portrayed, I also love it because it’s so important to realize that things like this happen all the time. The world that we live in is never rainbows and butterflies all the time (it never has been and might not ever be).

I did not like Zephyr. She’s a shitty friend and if she hadn’t pressured Trixie into drinking, it’s possible that a lot of the events above would not have happened. She also didn’t believe Trixie when she said that it was rape. Which is terrible for the victim when their best friend isn’t even on their side. Reading some of the things that she said were really difficult and honestly I’m surprised that Trixie forgave her.

I like Daniel. His character was very well written and the storyline with his past was interesting. I also like the whole theme of being an outsider and not feeling like you belong. It indirectly related to what Trixie was dealing with and then the whole bond between a parent and a child was very well done.

I know it sounds like I’m bashing this book but I’m not. I loved it because Jodi Picoult is not afraid to address the issues that no one wants to talk about in real life.

This book is  a 5 out of 5.


Movie Review:

I believe that this movie was released on Lifetime. Usually I expect movies like this to be terribly done, but it was actually pretty good. Of course some of it had to be changed for the sake of a TV movie but it still surprisingly kept a lot of the details the same and included the really small things that made a big impact in the book.

One thing that I didn’t like was that the actress who played Laura was a little bit overdramatic, but overall it wasn’t that bad. I won’t ruin the movie since I didn’t do a spoiler free review of the book but I would probably give the movie a 4 out of 5!


Next I will read Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. This will probably also be a combined Book + Movie Review 🙂

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book + Movie Review: The Tenth Circle

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Oh, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is devastating. I’m warning you because no one told me, they were like, “It’s the best movie/book ever” and then my soul was destroyed. Just so you’re prepared.

    I totally agree with you in regards to The Tenth Circle. Unfortunately, I’ve found (as a teacher), that Trixie’s life is really a reality. It was worse when ‘Twilight’ came out – every girl who was dumped by a boyfriend had to seek ‘professional help’ and everything because they needed to be like Bella because that somehow proved their love. It was insane. I’m not sure if they were fourteen, so they believed they were in love, or if they were in love with the idea of being in love, or what. But I see it happen all the time. It’s insane.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the heads up! All I’ve heard is that it’s so good but no one mentioned sadness. Oh, as a teacher you must see a lot. It’s so sad and it’s just like you’re so young, you have time ugh

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Yeah, seriously, massive heads up. Massive trigger warnings there. I really wished someone warned me, because it triggered me, and I didn’t see it coming. I won’t say who or what, I just don’t feel comfortable with anyone wading in the way I did, and then the reaction I had … it wasn’t positive.

        I know! It’s insane. Twilight was one of the worst things ever to come out. Everyone wanted to be Bella and have her Edward, and you could tell who was ‘acting out’ the books (minus the vampire shit). It happens over and over again. It’s insane.

        And there are also some conversations you wish you never overheard.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I’m just starting to read it now and I can tell that it isn’t going to be the everyone has depicted it so far.
        I’m starting to get sick of romance in novels but it is literally everywhere. Girls just need to be taught to be themselves the romance will come when it’s time

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I agree. It’s kind of why I liked Katniss so much – she literally put herself, and her family, first. And when she chose Peeta, she chose him because she realised she really did love him. I mean, there was that annoying love triangle and everything, but it still came down to her putting her and her family first. And I liked that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Agreed! I like that she never let the love triangle get in the way of the fact that…you know she was fighting for her and her family’s lives

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I agree!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like a good book. Jodi Picoult writes about important issues. This is going to sound crazy, but I don’t think I’ve read any of her books yet. Which one would you suggest I start with? I haven’t read Perks of Being a Wallflower yet either! Time to get on that since it’s kind of a YA lit classic, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would definitely recommend My Sister’s Keeper first. That was the first one I read and while it also deals with important issues, it’s lighter than most of her work. The movie did not do it justice though! Hahah I’m so behind on what’s popular in YA, hopefully I’ll catch up with summer lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

