This or That? #42

Hi friends. Happy Monday 🙂

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! :)

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions please let me know!


Which of these is worse….

Not liking the main character in a story

OR

Not liking the plot of the story


I would say not liking to the character. I can’t really say that I have read a book where I didn’t like the plot so much that it almost turned me away from the book you know? Like, I hated the plot of the Hunger Games and the idea of sending children to kill for sport. But, it’s a dystopian, so a revolution was bound to happen AND I loved Katniss as a character.

Also, I don’t think I’ve ever hated the entire plot as a whole, but maybe just one aspect of it. Example: love triangles or an overload of romance. It usually is constant throughout the story but it isn’t the only thing happening if that makes sense…I guess Hunger Games relates to that as well.

On the other hand, if you don’t like the main character, everything else in the story could be great, but being in that character’s head all of the time kind of ruins it. Kind of how I feel about the Uglies series. I was not on board with the main character so even though I was interested in the world around the character, the actual protagonist took away from it all.

What do you think? Which of these scenarios would make a novel less intriguing? Let me know! 🙂

~Rae

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to This or That? #42

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I think it’s the plot for me. Well, I’m not sure if it’s so much the plot … what I can’t stand is bad writing. So if the writing is bad, I feel the plot is bad, and I can’t handle it. Maybe English teacher in me?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The plot! I think if the plot isn’t any good, the whole story just falls apart. At least if you don’t like the main character, there’s still a chance you’ll like the book as a whole or other characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s definitely the character for me. If the main one is annoying or flat or just not nice in any way I can’t read the book.
    The plot however isn’t that important to me as the characters are so I can deal with a bad one.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. vrushali21 says:

    I’d too say the character because then I’ll have some human I love on the story and I’ll just pass it as a good read. I love character-driven books and I think they play an important role in the book. So why not focus on them more?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Kendra says:

    The plot! I’m a huge plot person. I could (and have) not clicked with main characters, and still enjoyed the book. For me, it’s all about the plot. Haha. If it’s not good, it doesn’t flow, and it’s just something that is totally hard for me to look past.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Not liking the plot would be worse for me. I tend to be ok with what a lot of people consider “unlikeable” characters. I sometimes enjoy being frustrated with characters because it makes me think more about why they do what they do and what makes them so hard to like. When a plot is bad, I might just not even finish the book if I don’t care what’s happening. Great this or that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: June Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  8. This is such a tough choice!

    I’m going to go with not liking the main character. If they are the narrator and I can’t stand how they act or they annoy, I almost always DNF the book.

    Having a boring plotline can suck but it the character is interesting, I’ll probably stick around.

    But if I get unlucky enough to have a slow plot AND an annoying character–I’m gone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

