Book Review: Uglies (Uglies #1)

Wow, it’s been almost a month since I’ve written a review. Hopefully there will be more to come!

I’ve just finished Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Uglies (Uglies, #1)

Description:

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever…


~SPOILER ALERT~


As I’ve mentioned before, if a book is recommended to me I tend to jump right in without reading the back cover or getting any other information aside from what I’m told. I knew the basic premise of what the story was about but I didn’t know what to expect.

At first, I didn’t really like it. It took a few chapters for me to actually get into the story. I also didn’t like Tally. She was very naive, closed-minded, and judgmental. Obviously this story does a good job of tackling the issue of beauty standards, body shaming and finding your inner beauty, but I was still waiting for all of that to happen. Also, realizing that to make people “pretty” everyone in this world had to be white was another issue, but again it goes with the premise of the story and the point that’s being made.

It wasn’t until Tally met Shay that I started to get pulled into the story more. Having Shay’s alternate perspective was what drew me in.

Obviously, I’m not a huge fan of Dr. Cable and I was not expecting her to send Tally to The Smoke alone, but it made for a great adventure in the story. When Tally actually made it to The Smoke, I was thinking “any minute now, she’ll activate the pendant,” so I was really surprised that she didn’t. I was more surprised that she ended up falling for David. I’m generally not that into romance for the most part and I kind of thought that there was something between Peris and Tally, so I was a little blind-sided by David. It was also weird to think about how it would be to fall for your best friends boyfriend so I kind of struggled with all of that too.

I knew that Special Circumstances would eventually find the Smoke so I should’ve figured that they would be smart enough to have the pendant activate if it was destroyed. Very smart on their part. I’m interested to learn more about how people become Specials, but I’m guessing we get to that in the third book?

I really like David’s mother, Maddy. She is probably one of my favorite characters. I love that she and Az were brave enough to leave after they learned the truth and to create an entire community from nothing.

I was so surprised when Shay was the first one that turned pretty. It’s so weird, because she was so rebellious and I liked her that way. Now that she’s all bubbly and (kind of) dumb, I’m not a fan. I do appreciate that she still considered Tally a friend now, after everything that happened though. I feel really bad for David after loosing his father and finding out that Tally unintentionally destroyed his home. I’m expecting that they will work it out at some point though, so I guess we’ll see.

Overall, I give Uglies a 4/5.


Next I will be reading Pretties (obviously). 🙂

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Review: Uglies (Uglies #1)

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m so glad you like it! And yes, in Specials, you’ll learn all about their transformation. But don’t give up on Shay yet. Pretties, I think (personally), is far better – but Uglies sets all the information you need. I don’t like Specials quite as much (although it’s pretty good) but Extras, the last in the series, is better. It also deals with (what I’m guessing, from the language they use) Japanese people. And Pretties and Specials open up a lot more different races when they start seeing different cities. But I’m so glad you liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  3. Pingback: Series Review: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

